Size Unit Needed

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-05-13, 01:00 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 28
Size Unit Needed

I am sure this may be a very common question, so Moderators feel free to incorporate this thread with a pre-existing one if relevent.

I was told by a contractor that the condenser on my downstairs unit has locked up. He is suggesting I go ahead and replace the unit which he has estimated will cost between 1950-2100 for parts and labor. I am currently not at home so I am unsure of the size of the unit but I think it is a 2 ton unit for downstairs and 1 ton for upstairs (2767 square feet). How do you determine the size of unit needed?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-06-13, 06:02 AM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 871
You should replace it with a same size unit.
Post the name and model of the unit.
The size is in the model#
 
  #3  
Old 07-06-13, 07:28 AM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,245
in order to properly identify the size unit needed, you or your contractor, would need to do a load calculation on your home. If you are even possibly considering replacement you should get at least 3 quotes.

Oversizing a A/C system will result in short run times and high humidity in your home. Undersizing will result in not being able to keep up on hot days. It is VERY important that the correct size system is installed.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes