How do I replace capacitor on my AC

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-30-13, 07:02 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How do I replace capacitor on my AC

I purchased a new capacitor to replace the old one. The problem is there are 4 wires and the 'prongs'/connections on the capacitor's are different so I'm not sure where the wires go.

# = 'prongs'/connections

Old Capacitor (Sorry about blurry image), GE Part #:97F9833


New Capacitor, GE Genteq Part #:27L877


If someone could tell me which wires go where that would be great.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-30-13, 07:28 PM
Member
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Name:  AC Frontal View.jpg
Views: 5685
Size:  48.5 KB

I'm not sure if it helps, but you can look at my cap in the pic to see how you would wire yours. I have a similar dual run cap.
 
  #3  
Old 07-30-13, 07:30 PM
firedawgsatx's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,727
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I believe you have the terminals marked wrong on the top photo but the photo is too blurry to make out the markings. But, normally the brown wire goes to "Fan" and it appears in your photo the brown wire is going to the 1 terminal connection. Normally, the "C" or common will have 4 blades, the "H" or Herm will have 3 blades and the "Fan" will have 2 blades (sometimes 1). Your connections on to the replacement capacitor should be exactly the same as the original. Swap wire for wire one at a time from the original to the replacement and you should be good to go. I suggest you re-look at your original capacitor to make sure of the terminal designations.
 
  #4  
Old 07-30-13, 09:27 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,245
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Brown = fan
Yellow = herm
Red and purple = C
 
  #5  
Old 07-31-13, 05:23 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Here are better quality pictures of the old capacitor.

The fan has 4 terminals, herm 2, and C 3.


 
  #6  
Old 07-31-13, 05:29 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,245
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
ok, I already answered on how to wire it up to the new one...............

FYI, it looks as though you old one was not manufactured with the proper labels. Regardless I know you system and I know what color goes to which terminal on the new capacitor.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: