replacing a blower motor for gas furnace/AC unit

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-07-13, 04:04 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
replacing a blower motor for gas furnace/AC unit

I am replacing my blower motor for my AC/gas furnace.

The OLD motor has the following:

2 brown wires that went to the capacitor;

The rest of the wires were connected on the circuit board:

Off-white (may have been white at installation 13 years ago) wire went to "Neutrals" where there are 3 connections & this one went to the one on the far right;

Yellow went to "M2" (M1 was not used)

Black went to "Cool"

Red went to "Fan"

Blue went to "Heat"
________________________________________________________________

The new motor shows the wiring as follows:

Capacitor: Brown
Brown/white (I have those done with no problem)

The rest are as follows:

White = COM Line
Black = Hi
Blue = Med
Orange = Low
Red = Slow
Green/yellow = ground.

SO MY QUESTION IS: how do I hook up the new wires? (old motor had 7 wires including the 2 that go to the capacitor and new motor has 8 including the 2 that go to the capacitor)

Circuit Board spots: I know the green/yellow is ground so I don't need help with that unless it goes into one of the following slots.

1. Neutrals (third spot to the right) = ? (maybe this is where the ground/grn/yellow goes?)
2. Cool = ?
3. Heat = ?
4. Fan = ?
5. M1 = ? (was not used with old motor)
6. M2 = ?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-07-13, 04:35 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,245
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
1. Yep, neutral
2. Black
3. Blue
4. Red
5. Not used
6. Orange

green/yellow ground wire goes to a sheet metal screw on the blower housing assembly
 
  #3  
Old 08-07-13, 05:29 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
So #1 is White?
The rest I understand. I thank you so very much! And yes, I reviewed the "charging air conditioner" information. I will hire a licensed guy for that but this I was trying to do myself. I know I cannot refuel the refrigerant and would never attempt to short-cut that.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: