a/c condenser fan capacitor

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-08-13, 12:15 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
a/c condenser fan capacitor

Fan wouldn't start without a push, compressor humming. Unit runs well after the push start. Question is unit has a hard start kit ..I assume I need to replace only the condenser's capacitor.the replacement 5/370 has 2 unmarked terminals ..How do I wire it? It's on a coleman presidential 2 unit.

Thanks, Jon
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-08-13, 12:53 PM
Bob14525's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,470
Received 11 Votes on 8 Posts
There are normally two capacitors used (could be both in same "can"), one for the compressor, the other for the condenser fan. Since you're having problems with the condenser fan, you only need to replace it's capacitor. The hard start kit is for the compressor, so the capacitor that you need to replace shouldn't affect it. As to which capacitor is the one for the fan, you'll have to consult the wiring diagram, or follow the wiring. Whichever capacitor lead goes to the fan is the one that you need to replace.
 
  #3  
Old 08-08-13, 01:12 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks, Bob..the new capacitor has 2 terminals ( unmarked).. Does the brown wire go to both or to 1 side and the other terminal is connected to com?
 
  #4  
Old 08-08-13, 02:20 PM
Bob14525's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,470
Received 11 Votes on 8 Posts
The capacitor is non polarized, meaning that it doesn't matter if you reverse the wires. Just disconnect the two wires from the bad capacitor and connect them to the two terminals on the new capacitor.
 
  #5  
Old 08-08-13, 02:25 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm not asking the question right..Does one terminal go to grd and the other to the fan? I understand non-polarized, but I need to know if the cap is 110v and grd or 110v and the same 110v on both terminals?
 
  #6  
Old 08-08-13, 02:31 PM
Bob14525's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,470
Received 11 Votes on 8 Posts
I don't know how your particular circuit is wired. Can't you just move the wires from the old capacitor to the new one?
 
  #7  
Old 08-08-13, 03:18 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The old capacitor has 3 terminals (dual from what I gathered here). Just trying to replace the fan motor portion as the compressor starts and runs fine.
 
  #8  
Old 08-08-13, 03:27 PM
Bob14525's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,470
Received 11 Votes on 8 Posts
OK, now I understand what your question is. One of the 3 terminals on the old capacitor is the common (where one end of each of the two capacitors join). You need to determine which of the 3 terminals is the common and connect a wire from the common to one side of the new capacitor and move the fan wire from the old capacitor to the other terminal on the new capacitor. The common terminal is probably wired to one side of the output side of the contactor.
 
  #9  
Old 08-08-13, 03:43 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks you, sorry it took so long to get to the root of the question, so to restate.
One terminal (either one) with the brown wire to the fan and the other terminal jumped to the common terminal of the dual (old) capacitor which is coming off the contactor that's the relay right?
Maybe this is where I went wrong. Is the common 110v or ground?

Thanks Again
 
  #10  
Old 08-08-13, 04:17 PM
Bob14525's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,470
Received 11 Votes on 8 Posts
Yes, that is correct. The compressor (outside) unit runs on 240VAC. The common is one side of the 240V line. While it will measure as 120VAC if referenced to ground, I hesitate to refer to it as 120V, but rather one side of the 240V line. This signifies that the power line is 240V and not just two 120V lines which may or may not have the same phase.
 
  #11  
Old 08-08-13, 04:37 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks Again, Bob. Your help is very much appreciated. Now let's hope it fixes my A/C problem

JBois
 
  #12  
Old 08-11-13, 05:23 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Quick Follow-up..Capacitor replacement well. A/C up and running. Bob, Thanks Again for your help
 
  #13  
Old 08-11-13, 05:30 PM
Bob14525's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,470
Received 11 Votes on 8 Posts
Jon, thanks for the follow-up, and glad I could help.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: