Can I add refrigerant myself?

Old 08-15-13, 08:20 AM
B
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Can I add refrigerant myself?

Ok, I'm fully expecting to get bashed on this one b/c it's probably a dumb question. but I have no experience here so go easy on me

I have a central A/C unit with a leak somewhere. I've paid to have refrigerant added last summer, this past june, and just this week. Am hoping this latest top off can get me through the next 6 weeks but fear it may not. Am planning on getting a new one next spring. In the meantime, I'm wondering if I can add refrigerant myself? I'm guessing this has to be done by a qualified technician and thinking the stuff itself isn't available to the home buyer? But its costing me $400-$500 each time so figured I ask.

Sponsored Links
Old 08-15-13, 08:25 AM
Received 26 Votes on 21 Posts
You need to be EPA certified to (legally) work with refrigerant. See some of the "stickies" at the top of this forum for more information. Bottom line is you won't get any assistance here for trying to add refrigerant yourself.

Old 08-15-13, 08:26 AM
Super Moderator
Received 60 Votes on 52 Posts
I'm wondering if I can add refrigerant myself? I'm guessing this has to be done by a qualified technician and thinking the stuff itself isn't available to the home buyer? But its costing me $400-$500 each time so figured I ask.
You are correct... You cannot... Do not even try or think about it...

A qualified tech should be able to find the leak so it will not cost you $... This is where you need to shop around for the right contractor.

Did the last contractor look for leaks? Even they say they cant find it that sounds like hogwash to me... I have worked with the HVAC guys and they were well equipped to find leaks....

Others will chime in..

Old 08-15-13, 08:29 AM
Group Moderator
Received 1,051 Votes on 975 Posts
According to the EPA..... only a properly licensed technician can put freon into a charged system.
Most freons aren't sold to the public.