Installing 5 MFD motor & capacitor on a system that asked for 7.5 MFD motor

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-21-13, 10:05 PM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Installing 5 MFD motor & capacitor on a system that asked for 7.5 MFD motor

Hi all,

My AC is over 10 years old. And I've got a broken condenser motor just recently on my AC, the spec sheet asked for a:
1/4 HP, 825 RPM, 1.5 Amp motor that runs on a 7.5 MFD capacitor

I've replaced it with an energy efficient A.O. Smith motor that have the following spec:
1/4 HP, 825 RPM, 1.5 Amp motor that runs on a 5 MFD capacitor And it worked just fine.

My question is can I install the new motor with a 5 MFD capacitor into my AC without any problem because the spec sheet recommended otherwise?

Thanks.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-21-13, 10:10 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,402
Received 1,019 Votes on 946 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

You installed a replacement condensor motor. Your air conditioner doesn't care what size the cap on the fan motor is. The cap must be sized according to what the motor requires.

You're good...... no worries.
 
  #3  
Old 08-22-13, 05:50 AM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Whew, thank you PJmax, your answer gives me the relief!
 
  #4  
Old 08-22-13, 06:33 AM
firedawgsatx's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,727
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, you did good. Anytime, you replace a condenser fan motor it is standard practice to replace the run capacitor. The run capacitor should match what the motor requires. Make sure you test the new capacitor before installing because I have seen a few lately that were out of specs right out of the box.
 
  #5  
Old 08-22-13, 10:47 AM
HVAC RETIRED's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wisconsin USA
Posts: 715
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It is important to have all three specs the same on the new motor; HP;RPM & also Amp-draw; yours does so it's okay. Also, the mounting positions up/down or horizontal...

The parts-house outlet should cross-reference all the specifications so the motor complies.
 
  #6  
Old 08-23-13, 07:06 AM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I tested the new run capacitor I bought with it and it's right within the spec.

The only problem I found out was that the fan blade broken after been removed from the old motor, the shaft area had freeplay between the joint, so I'm ordering a new replacement fan blade as well, hopefully to completely fix the problem.

Thanks again for everyone's help.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: