Changed Condensor Fan motor outside , Not it's making a rumbling noise

Old 10-08-13, 10:26 AM
M
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Changed Condensor Fan motor outside , Now it's making a rumbling noise

So to make a short story quick, My AC in the house stopped working It was blowing hot air, The fan was making a buzzing noise. After some research I changed capacitor ( wasn't the problem) Then I changed the motor. Wasn't too difficult but it was my first time doing it, so I am not a professional at all but somewhat handy. Anyways now the AC runs fine, fan blows and there is cold air.

But it's making a louder then normal rambling noise, I tightened all the screws. The old motor had a short shaft and the blade was about a inch and a half away from the motor. This motor has a long shaft maybe 8 inches or so, I put the blades roughly in the same position. But there is an excess shaft, Is that causing the rambling noise? Maybe the motor is shaking? The fan blades don't look bent at all, Maybe not balanced?, I could be wrong? Would a tiny slight bent or imbalance cause all that noise? How do I check if my blades are balanced or bent?

Can I cut the excess shaft off of the motor? Would that help?

PS: I don't think it's the condenser as it was making the same noise with it off. and the Fan blades aren't hitting anything.

I included a video of my exact AC unit, I posted it on youtube.

Any help is appreciated. Thank you

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jNJZtuKrUC0&feature=em-upload_owner

Last edited by mg0698; 10-08-13 at 11:08 AM.
Old 10-08-13, 10:55 AM
Group Moderator
Received 1,321 Votes on 1,221 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

You can cut off the extra shaft length but that probably isn't causing the problem.

More important than the fan being the same distance from the motor ...... does the fan end up in the same place inside the unit. The height in the opening is important.