wire /breaker amperage for a/c unit


  #1  
Old 10-20-13, 09:56 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: US
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
wire /breaker amperage for a/c unit

Hi I have an American Standard a/c + heater combo. There is a 30 amp and a 60 amp breaker inside the unit. It has been wired with aluminum wiring with a 100 amp breaker outside in the electrical box. The wire I'm looking at replacing it with is Romex 2 gauge which is rated to 95 amps. If I change the main breaker to a 90 amp breaker would this be safe? As I can't really see the reason behind using 100 amp breaker if the internal breakers only add up to 90 amps. Also 100 amp wire seems a little difficult to get by the foot.
 
  #2  
Old 10-21-13, 03:08 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 36,607
Upvotes: 0
Received 10 Upvotes on 9 Posts
What is the amperage rating of the A/C unit? Read from the sticker on the unit. I am assuming the air handler is incorporated into the outside unit.
 
  #3  
Old 10-21-13, 06:19 AM
airman.1994's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 5,491
Upvotes: 0
Received 8 Upvotes on 8 Posts
10% Id get the 100amp easier to find and maybe cheaper.
 
  #4  
Old 10-21-13, 04:00 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: US
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Not entirely sure. I can see Full Load amps which is 3.30. I believe that's for the actual motor though.
I've attached some pics. There is a whole bunch of numbers. The one I believe is right is bayhtr1415. It's running on 240 volts so that's where circuit 1 and circuit 2 have the 30 amp and 60 amp breakers in them.
 
Attached Images    
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: