AC condensation problem

Old 10-29-13, 01:40 PM
AC condensation problem

I moved into my home some time early last year. During the summer i noticed dipping sound i didn't have time to check it out. But now i have time to try to fix it. I wend down into the craw space to see where the dripping was coming from. I noticed red/brownish streak marks coming down the AC Unit. The AC unit has condensate drain line but i don't believe it is working correctly. The drain line comes from the AC Unit down to the craw space then goes out side, but the drain line from the Ac Unit goes upward to outside. I am not an expert but i don't believe the drain pip is draining because it's going upward. I have attached some pictures.

How do i replace this drain pip correctly?
Any info would be great.

Thanks.

Attached Images   
Sponsored Links
Old 10-29-13, 02:56 PM
Even though its pitched upward which is SO incorrect it would still eventually drain once it filled up, BUT....that would clog extremely easily. That looks like a lot of work to make that right, especially if that concrete foundation is below grade. You made need to drill through the beams and re route the drain so that it is pitched correctly, or you can just let it drain into the crawlspace....

Old 10-29-13, 03:26 PM
um.. think drilling a 3/4" hole through the floor joists might work. Although i would have to put the drain pip over the air ducts.

Would i need a p-trap? Would i need a Vent-T after the P-trap?
If i do where would these go?

It would be hard to put a Vent-T since the drain pipe would be really close to the craw space ceiling.

Is there certain restrictions for drilling holes in floor joists?

Thanks for the reply.

Old 10-31-13, 12:55 PM
NO WAY DO NOT DRILL IN TO BEAM That is jack leg and against code!!!!!! Yes you need a trap. If you cant get fall on it add a pump..

Old 10-31-13, 12:58 PM
on a side note it looks like you have mold on the decking and beams.. Hard to tell from pic

Old 11-05-13, 10:24 AM