Honeywell TrueIAQ Humidistat does not detect heat


  #1  
Old 11-06-13, 06:58 PM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 12
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Honeywell TrueIAQ Humidistat does not detect heat

I initially installed TrueIAQ humidistat (DG115EZIAQ ) with a non-programmable thermostat by Ritetemp model8029b

Option 25 was set to 0=Hum only while heat on and humidifier was coming on when heat was ON.

http://s3.pexsupply.com/manuals/1249...ners_Guide.pdf

last year I replaced the thermostat with a programmable Lutron TouchPro (made by Honeywell) and humidifier stopped working. The only way I can get humidifier to come on is if I set option 25 in humidifier settings to 2=Hum forces fan on.

http://resi.lutron.com/LinkClick.asp...d=585&mid=1452

Does anyone have any ideas why humidifier no longer detects heat when heat is ON?

Name:  odl.jpg
Views: 1137
Size:  27.5 KB

Name:  furn.jpg
Views: 877
Size:  42.5 KB

Name:  hum.jpg
Views: 1218
Size:  32.9 KB

Name:  IMG_2573.jpg
Views: 796
Size:  28.7 KB
Thanks
 

Last edited by loloboko; 11-06-13 at 07:33 PM.
  #2  
Old 11-06-13, 09:21 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,530
Received 95 Upvotes on 88 Posts
You may have a broken wire.

Can you measure 24 volts AC between W and C at the humidistat when the heat is running?
 
  #3  
Old 11-07-13, 05:09 PM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 12
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
wires look good, voltmeter is connected to W and C at the humidistat (white and blue wires)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=giCchyB6ot0&feature=youtu.be
 

Last edited by loloboko; 11-07-13 at 05:30 PM.
  #4  
Old 11-07-13, 10:33 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,530
Received 95 Upvotes on 88 Posts
What is 15 set at?

 
  #5  
Old 11-08-13, 03:36 AM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 12
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
15 is set to 2 but it should not matter as outside temperature is above 32F and window frost protection is set to 9. Also, if I set 25 to 1, humidifier comes on. It's only when it's set to come on with heat it does not.

could it be one of the advanced settings on the thermostat, like setting 180?
 
  #6  
Old 11-08-13, 12:01 PM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 12
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
furnace terminals before I made any changes

Name:  IMG_1549.jpg
Views: 723
Size:  40.6 KB
 
  #7  
Old 11-09-13, 10:21 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,530
Received 95 Upvotes on 88 Posts
180 powers G for electric heat. Most heating units today do not require 24VAC to G in heat mode.

I like the stat and furnace. It's the humidistat that is acting up.
It is getting the correct signal and not performing correctly.
 
  #8  
Old 11-09-13, 06:36 PM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 12
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Set 180 back to 0 on the thermostat, humidifier no longer comes on with 25 on humidistat set to 1. Set 180 back to 1, humidifier came on. All other settings on the thermostat are at their default values.

older thermostat was battery operated, Lutron needed 24V, so I connected a spare blue wire to C terminal on the thermostat and Com terminal on the furnace.

Name:  IMG_3277.jpg
Views: 1073
Size:  21.8 KB
 
  #9  
Old 11-09-13, 08:00 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,530
Received 95 Upvotes on 88 Posts
Turn off option 15 (by setting it to 1).
 
  #10  
Old 11-11-13, 05:24 PM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 12
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
if frost protection was in effect, humidistat would show Window Frost icon at the top right. it's not showing the icon and it's running fine with 25 on humidistat set to 1. what's confusing is when 180 on thermostat is set to 1, humidifier comes on with 25 set to 1, but once 180 is set to 0, the only way humidifier would come on is if 25 set to 2. Most likely it would work with 25 set to 3 a well.

I will go ahead and try disabling Window Frost.
 
  #11  
Old 11-11-13, 05:35 PM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 12
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I can make Window Frost icon to come up if I raise humidity to 60% and lower Window Frost Protection level to 1
Name:  1.jpg
Views: 737
Size:  16.7 KB

set Window Frost Protection back to 7, Window Frost icon goes away
Name:  60.jpg
Views: 751
Size:  18.4 KB

set 15 to 1, 25 to 0 and raise humidity to 60%
Name:  15.jpg
Views: 732
Size:  18.6 KB

humidifier does not come on. switched 25 back to 1 humidifier came on
 
  #12  
Old 11-12-13, 05:07 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,530
Received 95 Upvotes on 88 Posts
Seems like you have a problem with the humidistat. That looks like a control board for a gas furnace and you shouldn't need the fan energized with heating with a gas furnace.

You might contact Honeywell tech support to try to reset the humidistat.
 
  #13  
Old 11-13-13, 11:40 PM
user 10's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NA
Posts: 1,830
Received 57 Upvotes on 50 Posts
Unless you need the automatic frost protection, the best option might be to install a simple manual humidistat.
 
  #14  
Old 11-14-13, 04:09 PM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 12
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
replacement humidistat came in today and it acts exactly as the old one..
 
  #15  
Old 11-14-13, 04:22 PM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 12
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
what amperage should I be getting on C & W at the humidistat?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: