Sealing AC unit from outside

Old 12-20-13, 02:35 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sealing AC unit from outside

Hello folks,

I live in a rented apartment, where one AC unit is installed by the landlord and other unit is installed by some previous renter. The renter installed unit is smaller in size than the whole in the wall and seeps air through it. My utility bill during winter goes to about $400/month, inspite of maintaining it at 60F for various other leaks.

I would like to seal this AC unit from outside (Inside sealing isn't working as much I would like it to work) I sealed one unit

But I am unable to seal the other (leaky) unit

The primary reason for this failure is the wind. It sort of creates a tunnel effect in that area of the building and it rips open the sealing. What other options do I have that will hold wind and ice.

Many thanks in advance.

Sponsored Links
Old 12-20-13, 01:36 PM
I'm no expert but perhaps you can put cardboard on the side of those fins and in the empty area use spray foam to fill it up.

Old 12-20-13, 09:19 PM
Group Moderator
Received 340 Votes on 318 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

First thing..... DO NOT use any spray foam around the air conditioner.

Since that is not the correct unit for that sleeve it must be used just like you see it in the summer as it expels hot air from the sides. Anything you do needs to be put on temporarily for the cold weather only.

I know exactly how I would fix it. I'd pickup a piece of either 1/2" or 5/8" plywood. I'd cut it at least four inches taller and wider than the opening. You may not be able to leave that much at the top with that cement coping there. I'd paint the wood a nice color. I'd put self stick foam all around the edge of the board on the inside so that it will contact the brick. Drill two holes in the wood and then into the brick and install anchors.

I would use hanger bolts with wing nuts into plastic or lead anchors.

Name:  Hanger_bolt.jpg
Views: 263