How often capacitor change?

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-16-14, 10:55 PM
WRDIY's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 632
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How often capacitor change?

I have an old payne 1991. I changed the capacitor in 2008 and then again in 2013. I am not sure if I bought a cheap capacitor in 2008 resulting me have to replace it again last summer. The original that came with it was a GE. That seems to have lasted.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-16-14, 11:53 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 699
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
In a typical residential single phase condenser unit , there is a capacitor for the condenser fan and one for the compressor . Some times , both are physically built into one device .

Do you know which you replaced ?

Some condensers also come with a factory installed " hard start " kit . Some do not .

I am told , as a condenser gets older , it can have a more difficult time starting . That may be what is happening ?

If your condenser does not presently have a " hard start " kit , it might benefit from one ?

When I need a condenser , I go down to Johnstone Supply or W W Granger and buy one . They are not that $$$ . I have a spare here at the house , in case one goes out over the weekend .

God bless
Wyr
 
  #3  
Old 01-17-14, 03:05 AM
WRDIY's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 632
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you for your reply. It is the capacitor for the condenser. I recently changed the capacitor for the blower too. Yes, there has been a hard start kit installed twice. The cap on the first one blew off after a year. I am not sure if that hard start was a defective. I have only used supco spp6.

Also, I don't mean to correct you but do you mean capacitor instead of condenser: "When I need a condenser"

What brand do you buy? I am about to order 2 capacitors(Packard) from Amazon.

Thanks
 
  #4  
Old 01-17-14, 03:31 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 699
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Condenser is referring to the entire unit that sits outside that receives the vaporized refrigerant ( in the larger copper line ) from the evaporator coil ( at the furnace / inside fan unit ) . It condenses the refrigerant and returns it as a liquid refrigeranr , via the smaller copper line .

Yes , the term condenser is sometimes used for a capacitor .

You have a capacitor for the compressor ( inside the condenser ) and for the outside fan ( inside the condenser ) .

You may or may not have a capacitor for the indoor fan motor .

I have no idea what brand of capacitor , I have bought . What ever brand or brands Johnstone Supply or W W Granger sells .

My condenser unit had 2 capacitor built in one device / unit . First , one " half " went bad . I bought a single capacitor to replace that " half " . Some time latter , the rest of the original went bad . I bought a second , single , capacitor to replace that " half " . So it now has 2 seperate capacitors , one for the compressor and one for the out door fan .

Sorry for the confusion . :-(

God bless
Wyr
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: