Air conditioner Indoor Blower Fan Motor Wiring on Universal PCB

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-21-14, 02:19 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: India
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Air conditioner Indoor Blower Fan Motor Wiring on Universal PCB

Name:  ac.jpg
Views: 53044
Size:  26.9 KB
i got problem with my Onida Split Air Conditioner 1.0 Ton PCB.
so, i bought a new Universal AC Board.

but, it doesnot have slots to connect all the wires in Indoor Blower Fan Motor.

please see the above attached image.
i have 6 wires coming from fan motor
First set - 3 white wires.
Second Set- Red, Black and white.

but in PCB, i have slots for High, Medium and Low ( i connected it to White , Black and Red).

where i need to connect the remaining 3 wires in PCB,
do i need to modify PCB circuit or can i by pass any setting.

PS: everything works fine, except the fan blower.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-21-14, 02:46 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,582
Received 416 Votes on 389 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

As this is primarily a site based in North America I'm not sure if our regular people will be able to help you. I know when I make a repair like that I only use the control board that is designed for the unit.

For you to make those connections you will need the schematic for the A/C unit showing the blower wiring in detail. If you can point us to an online schematic for your unit we may be able to help you.
 
  #3  
Old 03-21-14, 03:23 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: India
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
More Connection Diagrams of Old and New PCB.

Thanks for the quick reply PJmax.

here i'm attaching 3 more images of both old and new pcb with connection diagrams.
hope you can get a quick solution.

New PCB Connection Diagram:
Name:  ac new pcb connection diagram.jpg
Views: 64320
Size:  45.9 KB

Connection Diagram Located in Indoor Unit
Name:  ac old connection diagram.jpg
Views: 52055
Size:  26.3 KB

Old PCB
The problem with old pcb is, the power LED flashes fast with no response to remote. in case, any idea, which component might be gone ?
Name:  ac old pcb.jpg
Views: 59590
Size:  34.0 KB
 
  #4  
Old 03-21-14, 10:11 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,582
Received 416 Votes on 389 Posts
The connection diagram is just that..... connections for the wiring.
It's not a schematic. A schematic would show the motor wiring in detail as well as function.
You need to know, in detail, the motor wiring colors.


As far as the control board I don't know what the problem is. I can speculate but that would not help you.
 
  #5  
Old 03-21-14, 12:21 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: India
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
please check my first post here. in that you can see the image showing motor with wires coming out.
or do i need to upload any other specific part images ?
i went through your profile. hope you can fix my problem.
Thanks in advance.
 
  #6  
Old 03-21-14, 12:29 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,582
Received 416 Votes on 389 Posts
i have 6 wires coming from fan motor
First set - 3 white wires.
Second Set- Red, Black and white.
I see the six wires coming from the motor but have no idea how to connect them. There could be three independent coils in that motor or a shared common connection. Two of those wires may connect to a capacitor for starting.
 
  #7  
Old 03-22-14, 02:01 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: India
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
see this image(old pcb ).
http://www.doityourself.com/forum/at...ac-old-pcb.jpg

following is assumption:
pair one :
---------
Red - High
Black - Medium
White - Low

pair twoassumed by checking with multi meter)
---------
1st wire - common
2nd wire - some fan control (not sure) have any idea on this wire ?
3rd wire - 5v

let me know your suggestion.


Thanks.
 
  #8  
Old 03-22-14, 02:59 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,384
Received 11 Votes on 9 Posts
I recommend getting a matching control board. Trying to make the wrong board work can do more harm than good.
 
  #9  
Old 12-30-15, 02:00 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: South Africa
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi.

Please help! I have a similar problem.

My (very old) air conditoner's PC board packed up. Had no choice but to get a universal board.

One similar as to Anuradhan's.

Same problem - the new PC board (called a QD-U02B) has three ports for the fan (low, med and high). See schematic attached.

The a/c fan has six wires (red, black and white that connected "together" on at "same area" on the old PC board. The yellow, grey and brown wires connected "together" on a different area of the old PC board. Please see photo of schematic on the fan.

What are these wires for? And which of them should I connect to the new PC board?

Thank you in advance!

Name:  IMAGE.jpg
Views: 37017
Size:  28.3 KB

Name:  IMG_2063.jpg
Views: 44997
Size:  32.6 KB
 
  #10  
Old 12-30-15, 02:11 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: South Africa
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Just to mention, the black, red and white wires are slightly thicker than the yellow, grey and brown ones. There is a 7th wire coming of the fan, the earth, this one is all that I know...
 
  #11  
Old 12-31-15, 05:21 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,582
Received 416 Votes on 389 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

This isn't easy as there is a language barrier when I look up your components.

Does your blower motor have a capacitor attached to it ?
 
  #12  
Old 12-31-15, 05:31 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,582
Received 416 Votes on 389 Posts
The motor is a PWM (pulse width modulated) type and gets connected to 220/230v at 50hz. .....using the red, white and black wires. The other three are control wires to tell the motor what to do.

This is the best info I've found on your motor. This info tells me that control of the motor comes from the board. I don't think your universal replacement board will work with that motor. I may be wrong but I can't get any useful info on the control board....especially in English.

http://www.airecontrol.com.ar/info/c...tor_galanz.pdf

You need to contact the board supplier and get recommendations right from them or call in a service tech in your area that may be familiar with your equipment.
 

Last edited by PJmax; 12-31-15 at 05:56 PM.
  #13  
Old 12-31-15, 05:39 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,582
Received 416 Votes on 389 Posts
For other visitors that come across this thread.

The control board QD-U02B is designed to work with a standard blower motor. That would be a blower motor that has a neutral/common wire and one to three speed selection wires.

It WILL NOT control a PWM type blower motor.... like the ones shown in this thread.
 

Last edited by PJmax; 12-31-15 at 05:56 PM.
  #14  
Old 01-06-16, 12:39 AM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: South Africa
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
PJmax, thanks for the info.

So is there no way to use this PC board to run the fan at all, even only at one speed?
 
  #15  
Old 01-06-16, 02:14 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,582
Received 416 Votes on 389 Posts
No... sorry. As far as I can tell they are not compatible.
 
  #16  
Old 04-23-16, 07:13 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
There is a way to connect it, the only thing is that you will not be able to change the speed of the motor.

If you notice, there three wires that are together are thicker than the others. This provides power to the motor. The other ones tell the pcb the motor's speed. You will need to leave the speed sensor cables disconnected as the universal PCB does not use them.

As someone already mentioned, the universal pcb you have is designed to work with motors that have dedicated wires for speed, which is not the case of your motor.

Back to your motor, if you notice your original PCB, there should be a capacitor next to the fan connection. Two of these wires connect to the capacitor and the other one to the neutral wire. You will need to remove the capacitor from the PCB and connect it to your motor the same way it was on the pcb. Just follow the tracks on it.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: