Pioneer Mini Split systems

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-21-14, 02:17 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 35
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Pioneer Mini Split systems

How is Pioneer ? They are less expensive than the home depot brands , about $530 versus $800 from depot. Amazon reviews are good , any thought on quality ? I probably will be moving in about a year , and just would like the convenience of not having window units . I live in raised ranch , this is for the first floor , one unit for kitchen/living room and one each for the bedrooms , the dual zone I could use for the bedrooms is so much more expensive than two small units . I know I will also have to get a vucuum pump/gauge , any other special tools required ?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-21-14, 02:26 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,105
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You can't legally work on the refrigerant lines unless you have an EPA certification. If you read the sticky notes at the top of the topic, you'll see no answers will be given concerning connecting, charging, or repairing the sealed parts of the system.

You can do all the mounting, drilling etc, but you'll need to find a Pro to handle the final hook-up. Do that before you buy anything or start the install. Some may not want to handle a job that is mostly done by the homeowner.
 
  #3  
Old 06-12-14, 06:54 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 35
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Installation went ok , I ordered longer refrigerant lines , and assumed that the control wires would also come with it-not included , had to splice in my own , they also forgot to pack the condensor sensor wire , had to make my own as well , also not a long enough drain tube , had to purchase an extension as well . Would have been a breeze if the had a full extension kit . I have one question regarding a disconnect , company says because its on 110-120 single phase a 20 amp on/off switch like a boiler is good on the inside near the condenser . Couldn't find a disconnect for single phase 120 , is this ok ?
 
  #4  
Old 06-12-14, 09:05 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 51,892
Received 257 Votes on 242 Posts
You can use a 30A two pole disconnect or you can use a standard 20A toggle switch.

Either needs to be mounted, outside, near the unit.

You would install the switch in a weatherproof box and use a cover like below on it. The cover I've shown is available at the depot. It has a place where the switch could be locked off for extended servicing needs.

Name:  wsp.jpg
Views: 2702
Size:  14.9 KB


FYI.... by code (in most areas).... you need to have an outside weatherproof GFI receptacle within 25' for servicing the unit.
 
  #5  
Old 06-17-14, 06:51 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 35
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks PJ , that's a help , will get that today . I also have a outdoor GFI receptacle about 4 feet away .
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: