X13 ECM to PSC Blower Motor Conversion

Reply

  #41  
Old 04-25-14, 07:29 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,350
Likes Received: 6
http://i151.photobucket.com/albums/s...pse711dbec.jpg

This might help...
 

Last edited by Houston204; 04-25-14 at 07:44 PM.
Sponsored Links
  #42  
Old 04-25-14, 07:32 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 125
Thank you, that helped lots! I was only short one spade. Is it okay if I used a splicer with a extra spade I had from the end of an unused wire?
 
Attached Images  
  #43  
Old 04-25-14, 07:37 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,350
Likes Received: 6
That might be okay if it is for a low voltage connection.
 
  #44  
Old 04-25-14, 07:41 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 125
It was for the blue wire that connects to the bottom terminal of the relay. I have everything else connected. Should I try to turn it on?
 
  #45  
Old 04-25-14, 07:45 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,350
Likes Received: 6
You do realize that the relay is sideways in the diagram?
 
  #46  
Old 04-25-14, 07:51 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,350
Likes Received: 6
Maybe you should post a picture before restoring power.
 
  #47  
Old 04-25-14, 07:52 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 125
I missed something. Where does the yellow wire from the blower motor go?
 
  #48  
Old 04-25-14, 07:56 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,350
Likes Received: 6
Motor yellow connects to transformer orange and unit yellow as shown in the diagram.

Can you post a picture.
 
  #49  
Old 04-25-14, 08:00 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 125
I connected all three together. Is that correct?
 
Attached Images  
  #50  
Old 04-25-14, 08:03 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,350
Likes Received: 6
Yes that connection looks good.

Are you aware that the relay is turned sideways in my diagram?
The right side of the pic is the top of the relay.
 
Attached Images  
  #51  
Old 04-25-14, 08:09 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 125
I know I have to attach the transformer and relay and make it neat, but this is the wiring. I don't know if you can see it clearly?
 
Attached Images    
  #52  
Old 04-25-14, 08:13 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 125
This is the relay. Does the wiring look correct?
 
Attached Images  
  #53  
Old 04-25-14, 08:16 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,350
Likes Received: 6
It looks correctly connected but I have never seen that type of connector used for high voltage.

I have seen many people struggle to get a good crimp though.
I tell my helpers "first the fingers, and then the thumb grab the wire" but I guess it would depend on the crimper. I always use the blue handle klein stripper/ crimper tool.
 
  #54  
Old 04-25-14, 08:19 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 125
If you think that may be a problem, I can run to Walmart and get a new spade, or I will just wait until tomorrow to get it and try it. I don't want to ruin the whole thing for one bad spade connection. Whatever you think is best.
 
  #55  
Old 04-25-14, 08:22 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,350
Likes Received: 6
I would run it as is for now and get a good crimper from Home Depot tomorrow.
 
  #56  
Old 04-25-14, 08:27 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 125
Would it be better if I attached this spade with a wire screw?
 
Attached Images  
  #57  
Old 04-25-14, 08:30 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,350
Likes Received: 6
Yes, I would trust the wire nut more.
 
  #58  
Old 04-25-14, 08:32 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 125
Okay, will do it and turn the power on.
 
  #59  
Old 04-25-14, 08:40 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 125
I didn't realize until after I cut off the spade and replaced it, that the one I replaced it with was too small for the post. I am going to run to Walmart and get a spade and crimper.
 
  #60  
Old 04-25-14, 09:05 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 125
Just got back with the spade and the crimper. Going to connect it and turn on the power.
 
  #61  
Old 04-25-14, 09:18 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 125
Question

I connected the spade and turned on the power, but the thermostat is still blank. As if it's not getting any power.
 
Attached Images  
  #62  
Old 04-25-14, 09:54 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,350
Likes Received: 6
Do you have a meter?
If not we can jumper wires.
 
  #63  
Old 04-26-14, 07:20 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 125
Yes, I have a meter. What needs to be tested?
 

Last edited by henry34florida; 04-26-14 at 08:53 AM.
  #64  
Old 04-26-14, 09:42 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,350
Likes Received: 6
Measure for 24 volts AC between terminals R and terminal C at the thermostat.
 
  #65  
Old 04-26-14, 10:15 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 125
Can you tell me what setting to set the tester on? Also, do I touch the red and black probes to the R and C terminals?
 
Attached Images  
  #66  
Old 04-26-14, 10:23 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 125
I set it to ACV 200 and tested terminals R and C and it read zero.
 
  #67  
Old 04-26-14, 10:31 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,350
Likes Received: 6
Do you have 24 volts between the transformer yellow and blue?
 
  #68  
Old 04-26-14, 10:38 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 125
240 at the black and blue relay. The light blue and brown on the relay is zero.
 
  #69  
Old 04-26-14, 10:40 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,350
Likes Received: 6
Measure between T and C at the control board.
 
  #70  
Old 04-26-14, 10:47 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 125
T and C test zero at control board.
 
  #71  
Old 04-26-14, 10:50 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,350
Likes Received: 6
Do you have 240 volts between black and orange at the transformer?
A wire may have slipped out of your wire nut.
 
  #72  
Old 04-26-14, 10:55 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 125
I removed the wire screws to check and 0 volts between black and orange at transformer.
 
  #73  
Old 04-26-14, 10:59 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,350
Likes Received: 6
You have already proven black. Why isn't the transformer orange wire getting voltage from the air handler yellow wires? Is the harness unplugged?

I'd place one meter lead on the black wire on the new fan relay and test every connection back to incoming power with the other lead. The alligator clip attachment works great for this.
 
  #74  
Old 04-26-14, 11:03 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 125
I don't know? Harness is plugged in.
 
  #75  
Old 04-26-14, 11:06 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,350
Likes Received: 6
Can you see where the incoming yellow immediately lands on the heater terminal? Check black on the fan relay to there.

Do you have 2 yellow wires and one orange wire in the same connector feeding the transformer?
 
  #76  
Old 04-26-14, 11:10 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 125
Okay, tested as you requested. Relay is 240, 240, 120 and 120. Yellow wire from transformer is 240.
 
  #77  
Old 04-26-14, 11:18 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 125
Checked yellow wire at heat terminal and read 240.

Two yellow wires are connected to one orange feeding the transformer.
 
  #78  
Old 04-26-14, 11:25 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 125
Any idea as to what the problem could be?
 

Last edited by henry34florida; 04-26-14 at 12:20 PM.
  #79  
Old 04-26-14, 12:22 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,350
Likes Received: 6
A faulty connection exists between the 2 points.
 
  #80  
Old 04-26-14, 12:23 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 125
Between which two points? I will check again.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes