X13 ECM to PSC Blower Motor Conversion

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-23-14, 02:08 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 125
Question X13 ECM to PSC Blower Motor Conversion

Hi, I have a Carrier heat pump air conditioner in my home. Last week the fan blower motor stopped working. I called an AC company and the technician said that the blower motor needed to be replaced. Because it was the X13 ECM motor it would cost $1,100 to replace it. I cannot afford that, so after doing research online I saw that you can replace the ECM motor with a PSC motor. I found a video on Youtube that shows a AC technician changing the motor. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eTfM8_Oa1HQ
I went to Grainger and purchased a AO Smith PSC motor and a capacitor. I installed it and wired it, but when I turn on the circuit breaker the blower motor runs continuously and the digital thermostat is blank. I must have wired something wrong. Any advice please?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-23-14, 03:06 PM
Bob14525's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,462
Likes Received: 8
Henry, it's too bad you didn't post your initial problem here before purchasing the new motor & capacitor. There's a good chance that you can repair your old ECM motor (assuming you're handy with a soldering iron). The majority of the time, a thermistor in the motor control module (bolted to back of motor) goes bad and costs less than $2 for a replacement part. See link below for more information.

http://www.doityourself.com/forum/ai...ble-motor.html
 
  #3  
Old 04-23-14, 03:06 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,350
Likes Received: 6
Post the complete model number of your air handler.
 
  #4  
Old 04-23-14, 03:27 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 125
It is a Carrier FC4DNF036000AAAA
 
  #5  
Old 04-23-14, 03:31 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 125
Hey Bob, I saw the link about the motor control module, but I was unable to find it on my ECM motor. The electronic part of the motor is covered with a thick black rubbery insulation.
 
  #6  
Old 04-23-14, 04:37 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,350
Likes Received: 6
The ECM X13 is different from the ECM 2.3.

originally...
http://i151.photobucket.com/albums/s...ps294b84a7.jpg

with changes...
http://i151.photobucket.com/albums/s...ps99c226fd.jpg



The brown and blue wires to the ECM X13 motor were low voltage. You probably damaged the transformer if you connected them directly to the new motor.
 
  #7  
Old 04-23-14, 04:43 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 125
Would that be the thermostat transformer? Would that cause the problem I am experiencing with the continuously running motor?
 
  #8  
Old 04-23-14, 04:48 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,350
Likes Received: 6
Transformers cost a small fraction of the price of a motor. (The blank stat)
http://i151.photobucket.com/albums/s...ransformer.jpg

You also need to order a 24 volt fan relay (to have control over the fan motor)

Grainger is more expensive but faster than Amazon if you can walk into a building.
 
  #9  
Old 04-23-14, 04:53 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 125
Would they know the part that I need if I give them the model number of the air handler? Thank you Houston, you are a step ahead of me.
 
  #10  
Old 04-23-14, 04:55 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,350
Likes Received: 6
The Grainger 6ACH5 fan relay will work.

You can get away with a smaller single pole relay but I am getting much more reliable operation from the double pole double throw relays.
 
  #11  
Old 04-23-14, 04:59 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 125
Thumbs up

Thank you so much Houston! I really appreciate the help! I will get the parts tomorrow.
 
  #12  
Old 04-23-14, 05:03 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,350
Likes Received: 6
That transformer picture may be 6 or 7 years old. The price has probably gone up.

Post back before applying power to the new transformer.
Some models use black for high voltage common and some use white.
Orange and red are the second high voltage leg depending on if you have 208 or 240 volts to your unit.
We will need to verify the connections to avoid another trip to the store.
 
  #13  
Old 04-23-14, 05:08 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 125
That's okay. Thank you again!
 
  #14  
Old 04-23-14, 05:42 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,350
Likes Received: 6
You will also need some wire nuts.
 
  #15  
Old 04-23-14, 08:36 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 125
I will post back as soon as I get the new parts.
 
  #16  
Old 04-24-14, 11:34 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 125
Hi Houston, I went to Grainger and they had the transformer in stock. The fan relay had to be ordered and I will be able to pick it up tomorrow morning.
 
  #17  
Old 04-25-14, 01:31 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 125
I have both parts and wire nuts. :helpme 2:
 
  #18  
Old 04-25-14, 04:37 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 125
This was the original part. Was it the transformer and relay all in one? It looks like a combination of both new parts I purchased.
 
Attached Images   
  #19  
Old 04-25-14, 05:26 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,350
Likes Received: 6
Nope, that is just a transformer.
The relay is something that we are adding to have control over this PSC motor.
You are replacing an existing transformer and adding a relay.

The new relay is in my second diagram but not the original diagram

Looks like you were wired to the 230 volt post on the old transformer.

Can you tell which two high voltage wires on the new transformer you will be using to use 230 volts?

Post a pic of the new transformer if you are in doubt.
 
  #20  
Old 04-25-14, 05:39 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 125
I am thinking the red and the white?
 
Attached Images  
  #21  
Old 04-25-14, 05:45 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,350
Likes Received: 6
I cannot read the top of your new transformer to assist you from that picture.
 
  #22  
Old 04-25-14, 05:45 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 125
These are the wires that are there.
 
Attached Images  
  #23  
Old 04-25-14, 05:48 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 125
I hope these are clear enough.
 
Attached Images   
  #24  
Old 04-25-14, 05:50 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,350
Likes Received: 6
Air handler yellow and black are high voltage.
Air handler red and brown are low voltage.

Cap off transformer red and cap off transformer white individually.
Transformer black and orange are high voltage.
Transformer yellow and blue are low voltage.

Where is the blue wire that went to your old motor?
Do you have spade connectors and a crimper?
 

Last edited by Houston204; 04-25-14 at 06:46 PM.
  #25  
Old 04-25-14, 05:55 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 125
Capped off transformer red and capped off transformer white individually.

The blue wire is connected to the SPT. I don't have the spade connectors, but I can run to Home Depot. It is 1 mile from my home.
 
  #26  
Old 04-25-14, 06:00 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,350
Likes Received: 6
Please define SPT.

Smells like my spaghetti is on the table. I'll be back in a little while...
 
  #27  
Old 04-25-14, 06:03 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 125
This is the SPT in the handler.
 
Attached Images  
  #28  
Old 04-25-14, 06:05 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,350
Likes Received: 6
That wire feeds the coil on your new relay. It will not connect to the new transformer.

If you post a pic of the top of your new relay I can assist you in its location.

Is your transformer R wire blue or red?
 
  #29  
Old 04-25-14, 06:07 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 125
Okay, enjoy your spaghetti.
 
  #30  
Old 04-25-14, 06:12 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 125
This is the top of the relay.
 
Attached Images  
  #31  
Old 04-25-14, 06:39 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 125
Is this the red R wire you were asking about?
 
Attached Images  
  #32  
Old 04-25-14, 06:45 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,350
Likes Received: 6
The 2 bottom terminals of the relay are the 24 volt coil. One of them will connect to SPT with the blue wire and the other will connect to the brown 24 volt common wire. (the terminals are actually double up)

The 2 top terminals of the relay will connect to the black high voltage wire and your fan motor speed tap (a black for high speed or blue for medium speed wire) as shown in my second diagram.

Okay, so transformer blue connects to air handler red and transformer yellow connects to air handler brown.

Air handler black connects to transformer black and transformer orange connects to air handler yellow.
 
  #33  
Old 04-25-14, 06:51 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 125
The motor has 3 speeds. Should I use the medium or low speed? I think the red is the slow speed. I need the spade connectors, but I can get them later.
 
  #34  
Old 04-25-14, 06:53 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,350
Likes Received: 6
I'd use blue medium speed.
Cap the other two speed wires individually.

I have seen people melt relay terminals by trying to wrap motor wires around them instead of using spade connectors.
 
  #35  
Old 04-25-14, 06:55 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 125
Is the brown 24 colt common wire the same as the air handler brown?

When I have to use the same wire could I use a wire splicer?
 
  #36  
Old 04-25-14, 07:01 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,350
Likes Received: 6
Yes. In post 22 I see 2 brown wires going into a single spade connector for the transformer.

I'd say that one of these wires went to the control board and the other went to the old fan motor. That is the wire that will now feed the fan relay.
 
  #37  
Old 04-25-14, 07:06 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 125
So after the brown wire goes into the transformer I can just connect the extra brown wire to the yellow transformer wire?
 
  #38  
Old 04-25-14, 07:08 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,350
Likes Received: 6
No. The black transformer wire is high voltage and the brown air handler wire is low voltage.
 
  #39  
Old 04-25-14, 07:09 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,350
Likes Received: 6
Hang on. I'll provide a pic...
 
  #40  
Old 04-25-14, 07:09 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 125
Sorry, I meant to say brown to yellow.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes