Fan Only option on AC will not run- All else is OK

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-13-14, 11:42 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Fan Only option on AC will not run- All else is OK

If you can help me with this you are really sharp. When I press the "Fan Only" option on my thermostat, nothing happens. The rest of the AC system works great (all fans run, clean filters, lots of cool air, cycles off like normal). I replaced the thermostat with a high end one and still the "fan only" option would not work. Bryant system about 10 years old. Any ideas? Thanks a million!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-13-14, 11:56 AM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas, California
Posts: 1,460
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Open the T-stat, twist R and G wires together and see if that starts your fan.
 
  #3  
Old 05-13-14, 12:48 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Any other ideas?

Clocert--Thanks for the quick response. I did as you said (twisted red and green wire together) no luck. "Fan Only" would not start.
 
  #4  
Old 05-13-14, 01:06 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas, California
Posts: 1,460
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Next thing to do is twrist R,G and Y 3 wires together and see that will work. for your info. R and G together equals your 'Fan only'. R,G and Y together is equal to 'Cool'. This should work since you said all other, like 'cool', functions worked. If yes, then you need to check the control board next.
 
  #5  
Old 05-16-14, 12:12 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Still looking for the problem

Clocert- I did what you said. I ganged Red and Green together. Then I touched them with Yellow, got a small spark, and the cooling system went on (outdoor compressor, fan, fan in the furnace unit). After a few seconds, I lifted the yellow wire from contact with the Red/Green. The compressor and fan unit stopped outside and the fan in the furnace continued to run for another minute or so then it clicked off.

"Fan Only" still not working. But cooling system runs OK.

You indicated the next step is to check the control board. Is that the circuit board (aprox. 8" X 10") in the furnace cabinet? Any ideas on what I am looking for?
Thanks again for your help.
 
  #6  
Old 05-16-14, 12:27 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hamilton County, Ohio
Posts: 4,296
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Yes, check the board in the furnace. It should have the other end of your thermostat wires hooked to it. Check that the wires are firmly connected to the appropriate terminals.
 
  #7  
Old 05-17-14, 11:16 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Fixed! Thanks for your help

Clocert and Goldstar
Don't know how I missed this but the green wire broke off the circuit board right at the end of the insulation. Stripped back some insulation, re-attached the wire and everything works great now.
Thanks so much for your help.
Would have kicked myself if I'ld called an A/C company to fix that!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: