Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Heating, Cooling, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and T-Stat Controls > Air Conditioning and Cooling Systems
Reload this Page >

RHEEM A/C DRY R-22 model#13AJA60A01757 installed date 06-26-2012 5.0 TON 208/230

RHEEM A/C DRY R-22 model#13AJA60A01757 installed date 06-26-2012 5.0 TON 208/230

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-31-14, 09:42 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 18
RHEEM A/C DRY R-22 model#13AJA60A01757 installed date 06-26-2012 5.0 TON 208/230

we have installed new ouside condenser on june 26,2012, which is: RHEEM 5.0 ton 208/230 1 ph 13 seers unit connected to our inside attick unit: goodman model gups1100-5. BOTH UNITS WERE running good IN HARMONY untill now. we noticed that outside condenser get frost off and on, over the cold line Freon pipe . after a while oudoor condenser unit keep running non stop,even the attick unit stopped. we have three different circuit breakers connected to our hvac system. one breaker is outdoor near ouside condenser unit. the second breaker is inside our main electric panel board, for ouside unit also. and the third breaker is for our attick unit. whenever our outside unit runs non stop, we turn off our thermostat to off position, but outside unit still runs, then we decide to turn off breaker ,located in our main circuit board. or some times we turn off the breaker located ouside connected to our oudoor condenser. and it does stop. anyone help us to understand why is it keep running, while inside attick unit stopped. To our knowledge, after the temperature get cold enough upto the set level in thermostat, both attick unit and oudoor condenser unit must stop same time????
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-31-14, 09:49 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2,103
Sounds like the contactor is stuck closed. Pull the disconnect outside and pull the cover off the unit. Take a look at the contactor.
 
  #3  
Old 05-31-14, 10:17 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 28
thanks for the help,ok we will try it and let you know about it...
 
  #4  
Old 06-08-14, 10:25 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 18
ON 06-07-2014. we noticed that contactor was burned out and replaced with a new cotactor. It ran good for one day.Now we noticed that outside unit is more noisy than before and at the end of it's cycle before automatically turn off,makes certain noise, before it's fan stop...and sometimes only outside unit fan keep running, but attick unit does not???? looks like both units lose coordination for running together at a certain point???? please help us to understand, any tips???
 
  #5  
Old 06-08-14, 01:08 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 50,501
Likes Received: 103
Your contactor should not have been burned at that age. Now you are describing a problem that sounds like it's also contactor related. Is your contactor chattering at shutdown ? Chattering will wipe out a contactor.... and a compressor too.

Your thermostat is supposed to supply power and turn on the inside blower and the compressor at the same time. I can't find the service manual for your furnace but that unit may have a timer controlled blower also. That means that the blower could run for a short while after the thermostat stops calling for cooling.

What the exact problem here is not clear but it could be wiring or thermostat related. You could try removing the thermostat from the wall and see if both units shut off then. Otherwise it's going to require the use of a VOM (volt ohmmeter) to track the problem.
 
  #6  
Old 06-08-14, 03:03 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 699
Did you replace the contactor or some one else ? I am wondering if it was wired correctly ? Do you have the wiring diagram ? Maybe , glued to the inside of a removable cover ?

Is this a heat pump or straight cool ?

God bless
Wyr
 
  #7  
Old 06-09-14, 05:37 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 18
yes it does, gives the chattering at shutdown off & on. we keep the thermostat at 78-80 .It runs fine and then off and on go back to the same problem.
 
  #8  
Old 06-09-14, 05:41 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 18
it's HVAC system cooling is by electric and heating is by natural gas line connected.we are trying to find out, why it gives chattering sound at turn off....but it runs fines for a while and off and on go back to same problem???
 
  #9  
Old 06-09-14, 09:40 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 50,501
Likes Received: 103
It sounds like it may be a defective thermostat. Was it replaced when the new unit was installed ?
 
  #10  
Old 06-10-14, 06:56 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 28
actually, a new commercial wiring of thermostat was replaced 5 years back, also a brand new thermostat was replced last month. reading was checked ,after the new cotactor was replaced this month. all looked correct, we still get chattering at the shut off???
 
  #11  
Old 06-12-14, 02:53 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 699
Try a 3 or 5 minute solid state time deloay relay on the 2 low voltage wires going to the condenser .

God bless
Wyr
 
  #12  
Old 06-12-14, 10:00 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 18
thanks a lot for info. after we try it ,we will update you soon...
 
  #13  
Old 06-14-14, 07:40 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 18
Unhappy

something new noticed lately.After we turn the ac off position via our thermostat. inside, attic unit does stops right away, but outside unit does not stops and keep running until we shut off from the circuit breaker off, then only, ouside unit turned off????? please help
 
  #14  
Old 06-14-14, 07:49 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 50,501
Likes Received: 103
You are going to have to get a test meter. You have to check the 24vac line to the outside unit to see if it shuts down with the thermostat.

If you don't know how to use a meter to measure voltages then you're going to have to hire someone to do it for you.
 
  #15  
Old 06-15-14, 07:06 AM
HVAC RETIRED's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wisconsin USA
Posts: 715
I am betting that 5-Ton condenser is way 'oversized' for your home's heat-gain & also the size of the ducts & Return Air Filtering area(s).

Free Whole /house load-calc
 
  #16  
Old 06-15-14, 08:37 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,325
Likes Received: 1
http://www.allreds.net/WS2/docs/rhe/...757_manual.pdf

That unit may already have a time delay control.
I have seen these fail and chatter contactors damaging them in the process.
 
  #17  
Old 06-15-14, 09:40 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 18
NO IT'S been calculated by the professionals before installing, at the time of construction of the building.
 
  #18  
Old 06-15-14, 09:43 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,325
Likes Received: 1
The diagram on page 21 shows an optional TDC (time delay control).
Do you see one on your unit?
 
  #19  
Old 06-24-14, 08:23 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 18
yes there is TDC in there
 
  #20  
Old 06-24-14, 10:11 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 50,501
Likes Received: 103
You should be able to temporarily bypass the TDR to see if the problem stops.
You would need to jump the two brown wires together.

If this turns out to be the problem then you can replace that relay.

Name:  tdr.JPG
Views: 791
Size:  21.1 KB
 
  #21  
Old 06-27-14, 03:09 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 18
ON 06-06-2014,LAST TECH KENNY FROM ----- AIR did not do good job.HE REPLACED OUR CONTACTOR WITH AN OLD, USED CONTACTOR & CHARGED FOR A NEW ONE,WHICH was BURNED OUT,after he left. TODAY another guy ROBERTO(----- air) replaced a brand new contactor and our ,unit seems to be running O.K. SORRY WE JUST FIND OUT TODAY ON 6-27-2014, THERE IS NO TDC in OUR UNIT.WE DO HAVE A CIRCUIT BOARD IN OUR ATTIC UNIT,which have automatic time delay set up in it. WONDERING IF, WE CAN STILL INSTALL ANTHER, ONE optional TDC in our ouside RHEEM UNIT ????? EVEN THOUGH, WE HAVE A CIRCUIT BOARD WITH TIME DELAY CONTROL IN OUR ATTIC UNIT???? PLEASE LET US KNOW.....??
 

Last edited by Houston204; 06-28-14 at 05:24 PM. Reason: removed company names
  #22  
Old 06-27-14, 04:05 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,325
Likes Received: 1
Yes, a time delay relay can still be installed in the outdoor unit.

I've seen a float switch that was wired to break Y chatter a contactor and cause a compressor to drop out on thermal protection.

Did you see the contactor that was removed this time? Did it look old?
 
  #23  
Old 06-28-14, 01:19 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 18
Yes, Mr. Robert showed this contactor before installing it.Actually he is the one,who helped me to see the difference between old and the new one.Our A/C is cooling good since yesterday. Only thing we noticed that at the shut off,the unit does makes sound/noise. we are wondering, as if we add a time delay control in it, would it stop the noise at shut off??? whats causing that noise at the shut off. our unit is leveled.but still there is noise at shut off for few seconds, then it disappears .but in each cycle it starts noise every time...?????
 
  #24  
Old 06-28-14, 04:34 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 18
ALSO SOME ONE ELSE recommending us that instead of installing time delay relay. we should install 5-2-1 compressor saver CSRU3, which is designed to protect compressor for our 4-5 tons unit(which is a potential relay & start capacitor to prevent damage to the compressor). please lets us know should we install time delay relay with it or not????
 
  #25  
Old 06-28-14, 04:42 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 18
AS YOU KNOW THAT MR. ROBERT from ---- air already replaced a brand new contactor yesterday.Since then, both unit turn on and off same time .BUT at the shut off there is a noise in the rheem unit ouside.It is cooling good, and both units shut off and on same time. What that noise is at the shut off??? should we install 5-2-1 compressor saver CSRU3??? , and will that noise ,stop at shut off cycle, after we install 5-2-1 compressor saver????
 

Last edited by Houston204; 06-28-14 at 05:22 PM. Reason: Removed company name
  #26  
Old 06-28-14, 05:21 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,325
Likes Received: 1
Every 5 2 1 that I have seen pops the top in less than a year.
I cannot hear the noise to be of much help with it.

Please stop posting the name of companies.
 
  #27  
Old 06-29-14, 11:38 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 18
What other alternative would you suggest??? WHAT CAN WE DO TO STOP THE NOISE??? what is the remedy???
 
  #28  
Old 06-29-14, 12:49 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,325
Likes Received: 1
I have seen posters upload video to utube and post a link on this site to allow us to hear the noise.

Are we still talking about a chattering noise? An adjustable 2 wire time delay on break is what I would recommend.Robot Check
 
  #29  
Old 06-29-14, 09:47 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 18
thanks, yes now we get a noise at restart, after the shut off, comes either from compressor or unit??? fan runs smooth
 
  #30  
Old 07-28-14, 06:41 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 18
WE HIRED SOMEONE ELSE,LICENCED,WHO RECOMMENDED & INSTALLED 5-2-1 compressor saver model CSRU2 booster in our outside condenser unit RHEEM.HE ALSO REPLACED ANOTHER NEW CONTACTOR,which he noticed,old one was burned again. AFTER THE BOOSTER WAS INSTALLED,our unit is cooling,and shuts off both units,the attic and oudside one same time,AND THERMOSTAT IS WORKING FINE SO FAR. THE ONLY PROBLEM WE STILL NOTICING, that AT SHUT OFF,the outer condenser unit stiil make jerky sound/noise. IN FACT ONE OF THE four NUT BOLTS,which are holding the compressoer at the bottom of the unit, came out loose???? PLEASE HELP AND GIVE US ANY IDEA,what else can we do to make our new rheem A/C runs without any more problems????
 
  #31  
Old 07-28-14, 05:49 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 50,501
Likes Received: 103
I'm at a complete loss here. You've hired several different companies to fix your A/C system. Can't they hear what the system is doing ?

Something is drastically wrong there and needs to be repaired by a competent HVAC technician.
 
  #32  
Old 07-28-14, 06:34 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,325
Likes Received: 1
I'd install an ICM 203 time delay on break.
12 bucks on Amazon.

I stock them in my van. It is a good product.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes