Does my AC only drain outside?

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-04-14, 09:31 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Does my AC only drain outside?

My house was built in 1983 and I know the codes are different now, but I believe there's nothing in the current Texas code that states an AC must drain into the regular sewage drain. I've seen in other people mention that there can be a primary line that goes into a sink or something (mine definitely doesn't do that). I ask this because my AC drain has made a mud pit in my backyard; I don't want it draining back there unless that's my only drain line.

My AC is in a closet on the ground floor. There's nothing that looks like a drain line in my attic and there's no roof vent (at least it's not made of PVC). The drain line comes out at the top of my unit (in the closet) and down into the slab. There's no drip pan either (definitely not up to current code).

Sorry for no pictures, I'm not at home right now.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-04-14, 09:44 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,520
Received 327 Votes on 306 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

If your air handler is in a closet on the ground floor..... the condensate line would not be going to the attic/roof. Usually the condensate drain is routed to the nearest place to get rid of it..... be it outside or into a nearby drain.

Find where the line exits the house and re-route it. It's useable water.... route it to where it can be useful.
 
  #3  
Old 06-04-14, 10:55 AM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,107
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I was going to comment that your A/C couldn't possibly produce that much, til I looked at your humidity there. Guess you aren't in the dry desert part of TX like I was thinking. Prob clay soil too?

I've never seen one that was buried in the ground unless landscaping covered it after the initial build.
 
  #4  
Old 06-04-14, 12:59 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,372
Received 10 Votes on 8 Posts
You might buy 2 bags of pea gravel (3 is better) and dig a hole at the location that your unit drains and fill it with gravel to build a French drain. This would bring it up to code and solve the mud issue.

A condensate pump is another option but they require maintenance.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: