air condition intermittently working

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-06-14, 06:46 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: us
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
air condition intermittently working

I have a split unit air conditioner.
The fan/compressor unit is a Kenmore N4A3. The unit is only about 5 years old.
The problem I'm having is the at times the air coming out in the house is not cold. When that happens, the fan outside is not running.
Then suddenly it will start running again. It has been going on a couple of days.
Any idea what I can check on the outside unit? I'm trying to avoid a costly service call if it something simple.
I'm typically pretty good at investigating and fixing things, but not real savvy about HVAC, so any input explained for beginners would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks, in advance!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-06-14, 07:41 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,372
Received 10 Votes on 8 Posts
Is the compressor outside running without the outdoor fan motor when this occurs?
 
  #3  
Old 06-07-14, 08:17 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: us
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Would it be obvious if the compressor was running? noise or vibration? (I know that is probably a really stupid question...)
I don't think anything was running when the fan was off.... I just turned it on and all was running properly (cold air, fan operating). I'll have to check it when the problem happens again.
 
  #4  
Old 06-07-14, 10:28 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 699
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The compressor makes a different noise than the outdoor fan . When one runs , normally the other runs .

I have seen a few units used in the winter , for commercial applications ( telco ) , where the compressor ran with out the condenser ?

God bless
Wyr
 
  #5  
Old 06-07-14, 01:34 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: us
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It has stopped working again. I checked - as far as I can tell, the compressor is not operating when the fan is not.
 
  #6  
Old 06-08-14, 07:16 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,372
Received 10 Votes on 8 Posts
I have had to dust off the points made by a small ball bearing in older mechanical stats when they are located by the air intake and pull dust into the stat.
This example shows the top and bottom of a mechanical stat but it is the middle that I clean...



Do you have a volt meter?

Is the contactor pulled in when a demand is present at the thermostat but it does not run?

Are you getting 24 volts to the 2 field installed wire nut connections?

Does the capacitor appear swollen on top?

Any melted wires visible?

 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: