Trane XE80 - Drip pan filling up. Drain setup wrong? Please help :)

Old 06-08-14, 08:24 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Trane XE80 - Drip pan filling up. Drain setup wrong? Please help :)

Hi,

I really need some help. I've been fighting with this problem for 5 years and hoping someone here will be able to tell me what the problem is and help me finally fix it.

Okay, so here's the situation. I have a Trane XE 80 split system. The system is about 15 years old. I bought the house 5 years ago and the first summer the drain pan filled up and the float in the pan killed the A/C. I found insulation stuffed in the clean out pipe, removed that and cleared the pipe and it's worked since. Now the problem is back... From the research I've done, I think the system may be set up wrong.

From the photo below, you see two 3/4" pvc pipes connected to the drains. Excuse me if I'm using the wrong terminology. The one to the left that is pointed to 10 o'clock fills up to the top and water then drains into the drain pan. The one on the right of that, runs out of the attic, down the wall and outside the house. The first time this problem happened, the cleanout on that pipe was stuffed with insulation. I cleaned it out and water started running down and out of the house and it worked fine for 3 years. Now, the same situation is occurring.

The drain pointing to 10 o'clock fills up and eventually water runs out and fills up the drain pan. The problem is that the drain on the right, the one going out of the house, never gets any water in it. If I look into the cleanout, I can see that its barely wet on the bottom of the pipe. There is cold air blowing out through the clean out, telling me that the pipe is not clogged. But for some reason, there is no water draining through it, and it's going to the pipe that's pointing at 10 oclock and into the drain pain.

So my questions are:

1. Is the pipe on the left supposed to be draining into the drain pain? Meaning, did someone mix them up.