Trane XR13 fan always on second stage

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-08-14, 01:10 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Trane XR13 fan always on second stage

Trane XV95 with XR13 air conditioner, just got the ac unit installed. When it's trying to maintain temp should it always be on second stage (high)? I can understand if you drop it by a few degrees, but should it not run on the low setting? I only have a single stage tstat, not sure if that matters with cooling. Also I think my dip switches may be wrong for the tonnage of my ac, does it make a difference? Any help would greatly appreciated.Name:  _20140608_160600.jpg
Views: 581
Size:  52.7 KB
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-09-14, 06:54 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Figured it out, had a look on the back of the furnace door and my dip switches were wrong. Switches 1 and 2 were set for a 3 ton unit. I also changed switches 3 and 4 to change the CFM from normal to low. Now it doesn't sound like a jet taking off when the fan kicks on. Hopes this helps somebody else
 
  #3  
Old 06-09-14, 09:33 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,556
Received 331 Votes on 309 Posts
Your installer should have taken care of that.
 
  #4  
Old 06-09-14, 09:56 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
without a doubt, when the furnace was installed they only put a single stage tstat in too.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: