Goodman Central Air/Heat Malfunction...Tech Out...Need Some Advice

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-09-14, 07:28 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Goodman Central Air/Heat Malfunction...Tech Out...Need Some Advice

Hi There,

Well...I have an 18 year old Goodman Dual Pack that I think is a 3 ton unit. It started having some issues last summer, but I had a tech out to service it and clean it. Since then, I have cleaned the coils several times.

The unit has been running ok for about a month now, but started acting up yesterday. Judging by the squeal, I believe the compressor motor is overheating and seizing up. The tech came out today and I watched him pull the control board out and it was very visibly damaged. Surely, this was the problem. So he picked up the new one...we fired it up...ran great. He watched it for about 15 minutes and left. Well...5 minutes later...same thing. So I replaced the thermostat thinking it may have been damaged...ran great for 20 minutes then stopped. I can see that the compressor cooling fan is turning and moving a ton of air, until it shuts down.

Once everything cools down, I can get it to restart, but no longer than 20 minutes. The tech is known and trusted.

I was pretty darn surprised that the thing worked at all with the board as badly damaged as it was! Some of the resistors were falling out!

Does anyone know what this could be? I read a few threads with similar issues, but they boiled down to a wiring issue or improper replacement part. This thing ran ok for 3 years, so nothing has been changed recently other than the control board.

Thanks in Advance!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-09-14, 11:08 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 51,864
Received 255 Votes on 240 Posts
I believe the compressor motor is overheating and seizing up.
If you are talking about the fan on the compressor unit..... I agree.
 
  #3  
Old 06-10-14, 05:07 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yep...that was it PJmax...and it was replaced today....only to find out that after an hour only about 1/3 of the condensor was cold. The tech said it may be clogged and is shot and too expensive to fix. I am kicking myself in the butt because I KNEW I should have had them replace it to begin with. So now I have a repair bill plus. Oh well...I have learned a lot by watching for the next time.

As an aside...he found a 3/4 inch...yes a 3/4 inch open air gap between the intake vent and the housing. He couldn't believe it and neither could I. He said it must have been like that since the unit was installed. Needless to say I will be taking the day off and WATCHING them install the new one.

It's expensive being a homeowner....
 
  #4  
Old 06-10-14, 06:18 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 886
Upvotes: 0
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
What was clogged, the coils? If that gap was letting in unfiltered air it would need a good cleaning which is fairly easy to do. If the coils weren't getting cold you are probably low on refrigerent. Also a pretty simply fix. Did he put a set of gauges on the system and verify the charge is correct?
I would get a second opinion or quote before replacing a system.
 
  #5  
Old 06-13-14, 06:03 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi Tom,

Well...I did see him clean the condensor and check it with some gauges and he said the pressure was good. He even discharged it and recharged it. He was more than happy to show me what he was doing. I had another guy come out this afternoon and he said there was some chemical that could possibly degunk the coils but he felt it was clogged and would not be worth it. He too shook his head when he saw the gap...said I most likely lost 30% of the cool air. The thing runs like a top right now but its turning 82 degree air into 76 degree air which apparently is not very good...lol.

I am going to be in this house at least 5 probably 6 or 7 years, so limping along with what I have won't cut it...I would also likely have to replace it anyway when I go to sell it....disappointing but I guess worthwhile.

Thank you for the help!
 
  #6  
Old 06-14-14, 03:41 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 699
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I am mixed up ! :-(

Sounds like this conversation drifts between the condenser ( outside ) and the furnace / AHU ( inside ) ?

The condenser ( outside ) is shutting off when it is not suppose to be ? The compressor , inside the condenser ? Does the condenser fan / out door fan stop every time the compressor stops ? Or , does it continue to run ?

The 3/4" air gap ? On the inside ? At the furnace ? On the supply duct or on return air ?

This is a mostly separate issue , from what the condenser is doing ( outside ) as long as the furnace fan blows when it is suppose to & the indoor evaporator coil / A-Coil is clean enough not to restrict air flow .

God bless
Wyr
 
  #7  
Old 06-14-14, 09:53 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 51,864
Received 255 Votes on 240 Posts
Wyr...... this is a packaged unit.... so it's all outdoors.
 
  #8  
Old 06-14-14, 10:24 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 699
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
OK , sorry I missed that . :-(

Did he ever get it going ?

God bless
Wyr
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: