Does my capacitor need replacing?


  #1  
Old 06-19-14, 06:46 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Does my capacitor need replacing?

Hi everyone, my A/C isn't working anymore, your help would be appreciated! Picture is below.

When the A/C is turned on:
-House blower comes on
-Compressor buzzes for a sec then stops
-compressor and fan do not run
-26vac at contactor and it engages, 240vac across contactor to capacitor
-fan spins freely if pushed

Cap looks a bit puffy -- I'd be happy if all I had to do was replace the cap for $30! Any suggestions?

Thanks!

Name:  ac_cap.jpg
Views: 3170
Size:  34.7 KB
 
  #2  
Old 06-19-14, 06:58 PM
T
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,060
Received 31 Votes on 25 Posts
Yup, it's toast. You can clearly see the top bulged out.
 
  #3  
Old 06-20-14, 03:29 AM
W
Member
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 699
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Examine the contactor very closely and see if it needs attention , also .

Take pictures of the top of the capacitor & capture what wire goes where . Then , to be sure , draw a diagram .

Be careful with the old capacitor , I could not see a bleed down resistor on the terminals . Pf course , it may bleed down through the fan and compressor ?

Take the old capacitor with you when you go to buy a new one .

Try Johnstone Supply . Or W W Granger .

God bless
Wyr
 
  #4  
Old 06-20-14, 06:00 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,536
Received 38 Votes on 34 Posts
The capacitor will be 2 yellow wires on C , blue on Herm, and brown on Fan but you should double check.
 
  #5  
Old 06-20-14, 11:03 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Great, thanks everyone for the advice! Off to buy a new cap...
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: