York diamond 80 blower problem

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-22-14, 09:03 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Usa
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
York diamond 80 blower problem

Hello, I woke up this morning to the a/c compressor running but the blower was not. If I turn the thermostat off and turn the fan on it still does not run. However in heat it works as it should.

It is a York diamond 80. Any thoughts or ideas?

Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-22-14, 09:35 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Usa
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Just a little more info.
It is hooked to a White-Rodgers digital comfort set 2 thermostat.
The unit mfd is 02-96.

It has not had many problems since I have had it. I did have to replace the fan about 6 or 7 years ago. I did that because it had cracked and was making noise. Also had to replace the flame sensor in the furnace several years ago. But that is all the issues I have had in the past.
 
  #3  
Old 06-22-14, 10:02 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,372
Received 10 Votes on 8 Posts
I'd verify that you are getting voltage to the cooling speed terminal on the furnace control board and measure the capacitor.
 
  #4  
Old 06-22-14, 10:12 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Usa
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If you mean the terminal marked "cool" then no there is no voltage at this terminal. What would the indicate?
 
  #5  
Old 06-22-14, 10:20 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,372
Received 10 Votes on 8 Posts
Are you measuring cool to neutral?
The cooling speed relay has failed.
If you look behind the control board at the cooling speed relay you will probably see damage.

You can disconnect the 2 wires from the furnace Y terminal and twist them together for temporary cooling with the heating speed.
 
  #6  
Old 06-22-14, 10:25 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Usa
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I am testing the "cool" terminal with the other lead grounded to the metal frame of the furnace.
 
  #7  
Old 06-22-14, 10:33 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Usa
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Here is a picture. I am testing the top terminal marked "cool"
 
Attached Images  
  #8  
Old 06-22-14, 10:36 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Usa
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Here is a better picture of the board with some light this time.
 
Attached Images  
  #9  
Old 06-22-14, 10:47 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,372
Received 10 Votes on 8 Posts
What does your meter measure between Line and the furnace body?
 
  #10  
Old 06-22-14, 10:57 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Usa
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It reads 120.0v between line and the furnace body.
 
  #11  
Old 06-22-14, 11:05 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,372
Received 10 Votes on 8 Posts
You need a new control board.
 
  #12  
Old 06-22-14, 11:17 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Usa
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That's what I was afraid of. You said I can disconnect the two wires from the Y terminal in the furnace and twist them together for temp coll on heat speed.
Are you referring to the light gauge wires? See picture.
 
Attached Images  
  #13  
Old 06-22-14, 11:35 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,372
Received 10 Votes on 8 Posts
Yes, I was referring to the 2 low voltage wires.
 
  #14  
Old 06-22-14, 01:14 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Usa
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Nothing happens when I try to run with the Y terminal disconnected. I have the two wires twisted together compressor runs but no fan.
 
  #15  
Old 06-22-14, 01:50 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Usa
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Another thing I have noticed while studying the wiring. The heat and cool terminals on the control panel are jumped together. The wiring diagram states these two are jumped from the factory.

I can hear a click inside the control panel when I turn on the a/c. Is that the cool relay or is it the signal to the outside unit?
 
  #16  
Old 06-22-14, 02:40 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,372
Received 10 Votes on 8 Posts
I would get a Y spade connector and move the cooling fan wire to the Line terminal along with the wire currently there.

Unplug the Heating speed wire and secure it so that it will not short against anything or plug it into a Park terminal.
 

Last edited by Houston204; 06-22-14 at 03:50 PM.
  #17  
Old 06-22-14, 02:57 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Usa
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok, the fan is hot wired and running, a/c is on, and cold is blowin.
Whew that feels better!
I have looked at new control panels online, but first I will call a few places nearby tomorrow (sooner is better).

Thanks for all your help. I will post how it turns out with the new control panel.
 
  #18  
Old 06-25-14, 05:52 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Usa
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I got the new furnace controller today that I had bought off Ebay. It is not the same model as the original is no longer available, but it is interchangeable with mine. I swapped them out and everything is working great.
Thank you for your expertise and assistance in troubleshooting and advise on how to keep it cool while waiting on the parts!
 
  #19  
Old 06-25-14, 06:59 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,372
Received 10 Votes on 8 Posts
That is great news.
Thanks for posting back with your results.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: