A/C outside fan not spinning

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-22-14, 11:34 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 12
A/C outside fan not spinning

We have replaced the outside fan and motherboard which got the outside fan to to spin for about an hour then it stopped. The inside unit turns on, but will not blow any cold air. Any other suggestions?




Separated from...... http://www.doityourself.com/forum/ai...-not-cool.html
 

Last edited by PJmax; 06-22-14 at 12:26 PM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-22-14, 12:18 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,338
Likes Received: 2
Did you prove that these parts were required before replacing them?
Do you have a volt meter?
 
  #3  
Old 06-22-14, 12:30 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 12
The guy who installed our AC unit 5 years ago replaced these parts. The outside fan started, but hours after he left, the fan stopped running.
 
  #4  
Old 06-22-14, 12:34 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Yes, we have a volt meter
 
  #5  
Old 06-22-14, 12:47 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,338
Likes Received: 2
Post the make and model number.
 
  #6  
Old 06-22-14, 04:36 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 12
It's a Rheem Prestige Super Quiet 80 Two Stage. I'm not sure where to find the model number.
 
  #7  
Old 06-22-14, 04:46 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 12
It's a Rheem Prestige Super Quiet 80 Two Stage.
The Model number is RCQD-4821AS.

THANKS.
 
  #8  
Old 06-22-14, 05:04 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,338
Likes Received: 2
http://cdn.globalimageserver.com/fet...ication-sheets
You posted the model number of an evaporator coil.
A super quiet 2 stage 80 sounds like a furnace.

Did you want help with an outdoor unit?
 
  #9  
Old 06-22-14, 05:24 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Yes, outdoor unit. Sorry about that. The model # is RARL-048JEZ. Thanks again.
 
  #10  
Old 06-22-14, 05:51 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,338
Likes Received: 2
  #11  
Old 06-22-14, 06:00 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Where would I look for the trouble codes?
 
  #12  
Old 06-22-14, 06:09 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 12
The trouble code currently noted is L 23.
 
  #13  
Old 06-22-14, 06:46 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,338
Likes Received: 2
Did you replace the dual capacitor?
 
  #14  
Old 06-22-14, 06:54 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Does the capacitor look like a silver round canister? If so, yes. He also replaced the circuit board inside.
 
  #15  
Old 06-22-14, 07:01 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,338
Likes Received: 2
Post the wires connected to C, Herm and Fan.
 
  #16  
Old 06-23-14, 07:09 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Here's some pictures


 
  #17  
Old 06-23-14, 05:31 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,338
Likes Received: 2
I can't make out the connections on the dual cap. Can you post the connections?
 
  #18  
Old 06-24-14, 05:26 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,338
Likes Received: 2
How many wires does your condenser fan motor have?
 
  #19  
Old 06-24-14, 02:53 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Not sure how to describe the wiring with text, so here's a video
Wire connection: Wire connection - YouTube
 
  #20  
Old 07-23-14, 06:39 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Just to add a conclusion to this, we got it fixed. The problem was the wrong fan motor was used as a placement causing the thermal overload to shut the unit of. We got the correct motor from Rheem & now all is good. Thanks for your time & help Houston204
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes