Air Conditioner Constantly Tripping Circuit Breaker

Old 06-24-14, 10:59 AM
R
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Air Conditioner Constantly Tripping Circuit Breaker

I am a student living in a rental apartment. My apartment did not come with air conditioning, so I bought a window unit when I moved here 3 years ago. It is casement window type A/C made by Frigidaire model FRA123KT1, 12000 BTU, 115 V.

It worked fine for 2 and a half summers, but this summer it has been giving me constant problems. This is what happens:

When I switch it on, it works initially, but after an indefinite period of time (5 minutes to a few hours), it starts to "fade" periodically. What I mean is that for a brief moment it appears to go out or slow down, and then it comes back. Sometimes it's like it shuts itself off for a fraction of a second, then immediately comes back on. Other times it's like it fades out (the usual fan noise drops considerably but doesn't go out) for 3-4 seconds, then comes back on.

This happens at increasingly shorter intervals. It starts off happening, say, every few minutes, then every couple minutes, then the circuit breaker trips. At that point I usually wait a few minutes then reset the circuit breaker and the cycle repeats, but the problem appears to be getting worse over the past few days.

When it is working, it produces cold air.

My apartment has a circuit breaker panel with 4 separate single switches, and two wider switches, that look like double switches joined together. Only the breaker with the A/C trips, the other circuits remain on.

Some other things I've noticed: