A/C Unit fans shuts down while compressor is running

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-26-14, 06:26 PM
U
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
A/C Unit fans shuts down while compressor is running

Goodman model CKL60-IL, serial 0510005305.

Noticed system was not cooling even though both inside and outside units were running. Outside compressor was running but outside fan was not running. Replaced capacitor and system started and operated normally for about 1/2 hour and then outside fan stopped again. Had technician check system. System started and operated normally for about 1/2 hour. Tech said compressor was operating within expected range (temperature, pressure, amps, etc.) Then after about 1/2 hour outside fan stopped but compressor continued running. Tech said fan motor was failing and should be replaced. New fan motor did not correct the problem - still shuts off after about 1/2 hour.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-26-14, 06:53 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 56,962
Received 824 Votes on 774 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

That's a good size unit.... 5 ton A/C only.

When the tech replaced the fan motor.... I would like to think he put the proper capacitor in as it may have been different from the original one.

What did the tech say ?
 
  #3  
Old 06-27-14, 03:05 AM
U
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That tech was gone before the unit shut down after replacing the fan motor. Maybe will return today.
 
  #4  
Old 06-27-14, 08:09 AM
E
Member
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 623
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have a feeling he didnt replace the condenser fan motor. If he did he would hhave charged around 400. Does the motor look new?
 
  #5  
Old 06-27-14, 10:28 AM
U
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The fan motor is definitely new and he charged $860 to replace it. I am comparing the dual run capacitor and appears that he replaced a 60/5 uf with a 60/10 uf. would that cause the fan mortor to continue to shut down?
 
  #6  
Old 06-27-14, 11:13 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 56,962
Received 824 Votes on 774 Posts
The 60mfd part is for the compressor and the 10mfd part is for the fan. The new fan motor would have the size cap it required right on it.

Many replacement motors have two leads directly exiting them for the cap with the two wires for power so that you can no longer use a combination cap but must use a separate one for the fan motor.
 
  #7  
Old 06-27-14, 11:32 AM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,119
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
$860 dollars to replace the condenser fan? OMG! It's probably no more than a $60-80 part. Even if he did a complete system check and cleaning, along with standard parts markup, thats about double what I would expect. And you aren't even in a real high cost area.
 
  #8  
Old 06-27-14, 11:49 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 56,962
Received 824 Votes on 774 Posts
I wasn't focusing on the price..... just the problem but that repair is a tad overpriced.

Condenser Fan Motor 0131M00018PS 1/4 HP 1 Speed 6 Pole | Goodman Repair Parts
 
  #9  
Old 06-27-14, 12:08 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,119
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Well, been a while since I replaced one and of course I didn't use OEM parts. Maybe I'm way out of touch.
 
  #10  
Old 06-27-14, 01:24 PM
U
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I replaced the condenser with a proper match (60/5 uf) and the unit is working for 2 hours now. I think the 10uf capacitor that the tech provided was causing the new motor to overheat and shut down on overheat. Cool air is a blessing. Thank you all for responding
 
  #11  
Old 06-27-14, 01:58 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 56,962
Received 824 Votes on 774 Posts
You weren't that far off Vic. They do make less expensive replacements.

The wrong capacitor can cause the start winding to get hot. Basically the higher the rating the more of a "short" it creates.
 
  #12  
Old 06-27-14, 03:17 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,119
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
I'd check the motor label and see what it requires. If he installed the wrong size, you shouldn't have to pay for it...esp with the markup they do. Give it back and ask for a refund.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: