Central A/C - unit seems to be running, however no air is blowing in.


  #1  
Old 06-27-14, 03:04 PM
Y
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Central A/C - unit seems to be running, however no air is blowing in.

Need some help to identify what the problem might be?

The symptoms: the outside unit seems to be working normal. It's turning on and off as usual. However, the air stopped coming in through the pipes. When I touch the hose outside (the isolated pipe) that's coming from the A/C unit.. it is pretty cold.

So what could be the reasons for the air not blowing in?

Thanks.
 
  #2  
Old 06-27-14, 03:09 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 64,639
Received 3,898 Upvotes on 3,494 Posts
Welcome to the forum.

The outside unit, the compressor, supplies refrigerant to an inside coil where a blower blows air thru the coil into the house. It could be a furnace or an air handler. You'll need to check and see if that is running.

If not.... the inside coil may be iced over now and you may be in for a small flood.
 
  #3  
Old 06-27-14, 05:02 PM
Y
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the reply.

How do I check if the air handler is running? I opened up the furnace a bit to check on the inside coil. Doesn't look like there's ice in there.

I was also cleaning up the outside unit a bit and at one point the AC started working again. But then when I turned it off for another minute, it again didn't work the next time I started it again (should not have switched it off at that moment .
 
  #4  
Old 06-27-14, 06:50 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 64,639
Received 3,898 Upvotes on 3,494 Posts
Just standing next to the air handler you should be able to hear it running. If you aren't getting any air out of the inside registers then you have a blower motor issue.

Try putting your thermostat to FAN ON mode and see if blower works then.
 
  #5  
Old 06-27-14, 06:52 PM
N
Member
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 25
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I had this happen once. I wouldn't feel any air coming out of the vents (or barely any air). It turned out to be the evaporator coil had a leak and it caused it to form a big block of ice after it ran for a while. No air could get through the ice. However, when I would first turn it on after being off for a while, air would come out (until the ice block formed).
 
  #6  
Old 06-27-14, 07:22 PM
Y
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
OK. Seems as if it's this air handler fan isn't working. I went upstairs into the attic to see what's going with the furnace and didn't hear any air blowing at all. Then I turned off the furnace switch off.. pulled a few wires back and forth just to see what's connected to what. Then when I turned the furnace switch back ON.. everything all of a sudden started working. It then worked great for three hours or so. And now it's not blowing air again.

That's the latest.. any thoughts? Thank you!
 
  #7  
Old 06-28-14, 10:22 AM
S
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 1,771
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Sounds like a loose connector. Start by pull the wires off one at a time. If you find one that is easy to pull off, try crimping the connector a little and reconnect.
 
  #8  
Old 06-29-14, 02:34 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: canada
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
The air does not blow in from outside The ac unit outside cools the ac gas which in turn cools the air in your furnace and the blower in your furnace blows through your house.
I am having a similar problem I think . Is the blower motor in the furnace running and if not, does it work if you press and hold the switch sensing the front panel a couple of times? Once it starts it seems to work fine.
I think there is either the switch which is sensing the front panel is on or a sensor is mal-functioning.
Can any body tell us what to look for and is this the same problem you are having?
 
  #9  
Old 06-29-14, 02:40 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 64,639
Received 3,898 Upvotes on 3,494 Posts
Speersy.... we try not to combine two posters in a single thread as the answers get confusing.

Your problem should be handled in a separate thread.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: