Blower won't turn off on my old Payne unit....help....

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-27-14, 04:26 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Blower won't turn off on my old Payne unit....help....

For years in the winter, I would have to tap..or more like hit my unit for the blower to turn off when in heat mode.
About two years ago I realized sometimes that would not help...if I simply switched the Cool mode on for a bit, switched back to heat, hit the unit, it would go off.

This summer I can't the blower to turn off at all. This never happened before in cool mode during the summer. I was able to hit it and it was fine. Than it rained and we had a power surge...it came on when the compressor wasn't running and now I'm on three days without it going off. I have to manually switch the power to the unit off because it's getting too humid in my house with the compressor not running.

A few years ago a tech looked at it and would not touch it with a 10 foot pole because of the age and condition of the unit....it was installed when house was built in 1985. The outside AC unit has is about 12 years old..but the furnace is original.

I'm at a loss and can't afford the $6K-$10K for a brand new unit...I know I would need to replace both since the age of the units...but I need a "band-aid" until I can replace them.... I've attached pictures...any help or advice would be greatly appreciated....
Name:  20140627_142913 (Medium).jpg
Views: 901
Size:  43.9 KBName:  20140627_143342 (Medium).jpg
Views: 1346
Size:  27.9 KBName:  20140627_143347 (Medium).jpg
Views: 1501
Size:  33.7 KBName:  20140627_143001 (Medium).jpg
Views: 771
Size:  34.8 KBName:  20140627_142936 (Medium).jpg
Views: 753
Size:  35.7 KBName:  20140627_142956 (Medium).jpg
Views: 770
Size:  38.0 KBName:  20140627_142859 (Medium).jpg
Views: 791
Size:  38.3 KBName:  20140627_142854 (Medium).jpg
Views: 768
Size:  40.2 KBName:  20140627_142839 (Medium).jpg
Views: 799
Size:  37.6 KBName:  20140627_142926 (Medium).jpg
Views: 866
Size:  41.0 KB
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-27-14, 04:47 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,426
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
I can't make out the model number.
 
  #3  
Old 06-27-14, 04:51 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yeah....wish I new it. It may be somewhere on the unit...but not sure where.
 
  #4  
Old 06-27-14, 04:55 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,426
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
You posted a picture of the nomenclature that has the model number.

Possibly 58GS- in the sixth picture.
 
  #5  
Old 06-27-14, 05:02 PM
C
Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas, California
Posts: 1,471
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Disconnect the G wire and see if that help.
 
  #6  
Old 06-28-14, 04:53 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I disconnected the G wire and all it did was prohibit the compressor from coming on...fan still running.
 
  #7  
Old 06-28-14, 05:54 PM
C
Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas, California
Posts: 1,471
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Something is wrong here. G controls the indoor air handler blower, it has nothing to do with the outside compressor. Y controls the outside compressor and outside fan. Now if G controls compressor, then what Y is going to do ? You may want to disconnect Y and see if that stops anything. You said you disconnected G, that stopped compressor, but fan was still running, you mean outside fan ? or indoor blower fan ?
 

Last edited by clocert; 06-28-14 at 08:12 PM.
  #8  
Old 06-28-14, 06:54 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I disconnected the "G" wire from the board below..... 2nd from right between "GH" and "W". It's hard to see...but that is "G" right?

Again compressor would not come up, just inside blower.

Thanks for trying to help me out.....

[ATTACH=CONFIG]33876[/ATTACH]
 
Attached Images  
  #9  
Old 06-28-14, 06:57 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Was told to tap on one of the "boxes" on my board...but it did nothing.
Name:  20140627_142826 (Medium).jpg
Views: 710
Size:  46.0 KB
 
  #10  
Old 06-28-14, 08:03 PM
C
Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas, California
Posts: 1,471
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
One of the wires must control blower. try to disconnect Y, see what will happen. You right hard to see, but there are only few wires, try it out.
Here are all of them : R (power 24V), C (Common), Y (Cool), W(Heat), G (Blower). You do not have Heat pump, so these are all the wires you need.
 
  #11  
Old 06-28-14, 11:00 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,075
Received 836 Votes on 783 Posts
I think your terminal designations are as I have listed them.

Name:  33833-blower-wont-turn-off-my-old-payne-unit-help-20140627_142854-medium-.jpg
Views: 542
Size:  14.0 KB
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: