Air Conditioner York E1RD018S06A out side unit not starting.

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-30-14, 03:15 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 8
Unhappy Air Conditioner York E1RD018S06A out side unit not starting.

Hi Pros,,, need your help.

I have York E1RD018S06A outside unit is not starting. I have tried almost all things.
before I done any thing I press the push button on Contactor , FAN start and Compressor also start and blowing the cold air.

I have changed the Main controller board, but still ac did not start. Changed the both capacitors one by one but no help.

I have tried to direct the thermostat cables but no help. i have changed the thermostat to RTHL3550D1006 ( original one is Honeywell TH5220D1003 ) but still no help.
I have checked the 24 volt on contacter their is no voltage.
Can any body help...... will appreciate alot its almost July....
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-30-14, 03:34 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,339
Likes Received: 2
Do you have 24 volts between Y and C entering your heat pump? (At the wire nut connections)
 
  #3  
Old 07-01-14, 03:55 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 8
I only checked the voltage on Contacter their was no voltage, Dose Y & C cables are attached to Main controller board? Please advice.
 
  #4  
Old 07-01-14, 05:20 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,339
Likes Received: 2
Yes they run to the defrost control board in the outdoor unit. I usually check at the field installed orange wire nuts but I look at the board or diagram to identify the common wire since it is usually black, brown or blue. The remaining wires are usually R-red, Y- yellow, O- orange, W- white or purple. It would still be a good idea to verify this with the diagram or defrost board.

You should have 24 volts between common and R, Y, and O when a cooling demand is present.

Y - compressor
C -24 volt common
R - 24 volt power
O - reversing valve to cool position
W - electric heat strip
 
  #5  
Old 07-01-14, 09:44 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 8
Yes I have checked their is no voltage on wire but connection and on board.......
 
  #6  
Old 07-01-14, 10:35 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 8
Sorry for miss typing in last post,,, WIRE NUT CONNECTION
 
  #7  
Old 07-01-14, 10:51 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2,103
Your best bet at this point is to check the wires from the stat. Turn power off to furnace then remove the stat. Remove the R wire and Y wire and twist them together. Turn power back on to the furnace. If the AC starts your stat might be bad.
 

Last edited by skaggsje; 07-01-14 at 10:52 AM. Reason: correction
  #8  
Old 07-01-14, 12:24 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 8
My Bed... I did the same... Turned off the Furnace on thermostat join the R and Y cable... go back to Furnace turned ON... no Luck.

I do have the same unit upstairs... upstairs unit is working fine... Both units have the same thermostat with same cable connection. to cross check I take out the faulty unit thermostat and hooked to the upstairs working AC that unit was responding the same way(outside ac fan not running).... Vice versa.... the upstairs thermostat did not worked with the downstairs... same old situation.
 
  #9  
Old 07-01-14, 01:06 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2,103
Check the 3 amp fuse on the module in your furnace.
 
  #10  
Old 07-01-14, 05:59 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 8
Can you advice where I can locate, I could not find near contacter, defrost boards etc... will it be some where close to compressor?
 
  #11  
Old 07-01-14, 06:03 PM
Bob14525's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,445
Likes Received: 4
Usually the fuse is in the furnace or air handler (blower). It should be inside the house, not outside.
 
  #12  
Old 07-03-14, 07:19 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 8
Just to want make sure.. my inside blower is working, when I select the Fan on ON its blowing the AIR. DO I still need to check the 3 Amp fuse in Air handler ???
 
  #13  
Old 07-03-14, 08:13 AM
Bob14525's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,445
Likes Received: 4
If your blower comes on when you turn fan on manually, then you have 24VAC and your fuse is good.
 
  #14  
Old 07-03-14, 10:18 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 8
Let me re cap the situation :
My blower turn on and throwing Hot Air, My out side ac unit dose working, its Fan is not turning.
I have done multiple things, Replaced the defrost controller board, replace the Both capaciters but same old situation. I have checked the Voltage on defrost controller board on yellow orange and Red their is NO VOLTAGE.
I have two units in home wiht same cable connection same models, i have replaced the thermostate but no Help. on out side unit When I Push the button on CONTACTOR fan turn on and compressor also turn on but it needs to be pressd as soon as you release the button it turn of.....
I alos combine the red and yellow cables on thermostate but no help.
please advice..
 
  #15  
Old 07-03-14, 11:27 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2,103
On the def module check R to Com. Should be 24V.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes