Checking AC freon pressure, but not adding to it.

Closed Thread

  #1  
Old 07-05-14, 01:56 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Jupiter
Posts: 119
Checking AC freon pressure, but not adding to it.

I appreciate you need to be licensed to play around with planet unfriendly Freon. But what about just checking the pressures on the units? I'm quite capable of cleaning the AC and giving it a once over. What I'd like to do is check the pressures and if low then call in the AC guy. Can I buy a pressure gauge for this task?

Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-05-14, 03:53 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas, California
Posts: 1,443
Because of forum rule, we can not discuss freon charges here. If you really want to know the charges/freon, you should post your question onto other DIY site which does not have this type of restrictions.
 
  #3  
Old 07-05-14, 07:20 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 50,571
Likes Received: 108
You don't randomly check the pressure as every time you connect the gauges you lose some of the charge.
 
  #4  
Old 07-05-14, 07:35 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,103
Why do you even need to check it? You can tell if it's working well with other measurements. This isn't like checking the oil level in your car or tire pressure. It's a sealed system, nothing should change unless you have a problem which will manifest itself with poor performance.
 
Closed Thread

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes