Looking for moderator jay11j


  #1  
Old 07-09-14, 06:52 PM
9
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Danbury, CT
Posts: 15
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Looking for moderator jay11j

Hi all, I just joined the group to see if I can resolve my problem and it appears that Jay11j helped an individual with this exact issue several years back. I was wanted to find out if maybe jay11j could assist me with my issue. Thanks so much.
 
  #2  
Old 07-09-14, 07:14 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,730
Received 4,115 Upvotes on 3,695 Posts
So why don't you post your issue and we'll go from there.
 
  #3  
Old 07-09-14, 07:56 PM
9
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Danbury, CT
Posts: 15
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Ok, I am trying to replace an old Honeywell t87f stat with a new programmable unit. I have a two zone single stage heating cooling system. There is no heat pump.

Zone 1 is controlled by a Honeywell T87F round thermostat on a Honeywell Q539A base. It has six wires R, W, Y, G, B, O.

Zone 2 has a T87F thermostat with three wires W, R, Y.

The control board is a MM2 Mastertrol Minizone-2.

The newer Honeywell stats don't accommodate the b and o wires. I was thinking of going with a Lux unit but am not sure which would work for my setup. Previous post from years back mentions a lux TX9000TS but that's outdated.

Not really sure what to do and no one in my area does jobs so small.

Thanks
 
  #4  
Old 07-09-14, 09:07 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,530
Received 95 Upvotes on 88 Posts
  #5  
Old 07-15-14, 10:09 AM
9
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Danbury, CT
Posts: 15
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Hi again, I just looked at the th4110d and it is only 1 stage heat & 1 stage cool. I need 2 stage heat and 1 stage cool. Any idea what stat supports that? Thanks
 
  #6  
Old 07-15-14, 11:13 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,530
Received 95 Upvotes on 88 Posts
Your current zone 1 stat is working as a single stage heat and single stage cool thermostat. O and B only control heat or cool mode for both zones.
 
  #7  
Old 07-15-14, 12:56 PM
9
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Danbury, CT
Posts: 15
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I'm so confused, the guy at the supply shop said it won't work on my system and there are no returns on the stat.
 
  #8  
Old 07-15-14, 01:46 PM
9
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Danbury, CT
Posts: 15
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Sorry for all the back and forth, it just seems that this is a specialized/old system and no one in my area does simple routine service calls so I'm left to try and figure it out myself which, as you can tell, is not working out to well.
 
  #9  
Old 07-15-14, 06:51 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,530
Received 95 Upvotes on 88 Posts


Did you provide the guy at the supply house the manual to your zone control or at least this page?

Did you inform him that you do not have a heat pump?

I'm sure that he meant well.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: