A/C never shuts off?


  #1  
Old 07-13-14, 06:37 AM
O
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
A/C never shuts off?

I have a tanning salon with 2 separate a/c units and furnaces. Last fall both a/c units were replaced with carrier units. They look to be like basic residential units. At the time they were replaced I had non programmable thermostats for both units. It was fall so I never really used the a/c more than to just make sure they were blowing cold. Over the winter I installed 2 basic Honeywell programmable thermostats and they worked great all winter.
I have noticed since I started using the A/C it has never shut off. They both just keep running. It doesn't mater where I set the temp, or what fan setting I put on, it just keeps running. The only way they stop blowing is if I turn the a/c switch off. If it is 85 deg outside and I set the temp to 78 deg it will get to 70 deg or lower in the salon. On top of that the tanning beds are running all day witch is like having a bunch heater on all day long. I'm not sure if I should call the a/c guy of if I did something wrong when I install the thermostats. I have the fan setting on auto. Is there anything I could have done wrong when installing the thermostats that would cause this?
 
  #2  
Old 07-13-14, 07:42 AM
C
Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas, California
Posts: 1,423
Upvotes: 0
Received 8 Upvotes on 8 Posts
Either the thermostat is not working right or the outside contactor failed to stop the unit. Both AC units have the same problem ?
 
  #3  
Old 07-13-14, 08:22 AM
O
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Yes both units keep running. Would stopping the unit be something that I can do or should I call him back out?
 
  #4  
Old 07-13-14, 08:58 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,532
Received 95 Upvotes on 88 Posts
It sounds like you have a thermostat issue if the unit turns off when you turn the stat off.

Post the model number of your stats and the wire connections. I'd say that you have incorrectly wired or configured stats.

Do you have the O terminal in use?
 
  #5  
Old 07-13-14, 12:03 PM
O
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Both thermostats are Honeywell RTH2410b1001. There are 4 wires going to the thermostat. I matched all the colors. The only one I was not sure about was the blue wire. t stat has O/B. there is a jumper on the back of the display and it is closer to the O. Do I need to move it closer to the B?
 
  #6  
Old 07-13-14, 12:29 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,532
Received 95 Upvotes on 88 Posts
It is unlikely that the O or B terminal should be used.
99% chance that your blue wire goes to Y if you are only using 4 wires.

Take a look at the connections at the furnace and post what you see.
 
  #7  
Old 07-18-14, 07:51 AM
O
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I think you are right. at the furnace side there is b g r w wires, but the blue wire is going to the Y terminal. I am guessing I should move the blue wire at the thermostat to the yellow terminal?
 
  #8  
Old 07-18-14, 08:41 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,532
Received 95 Upvotes on 88 Posts
Yes, move blue to Y at the stat.
 
  #9  
Old 07-18-14, 10:39 AM
O
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Here are a few pics. Thank you for your help!
 
Attached Images   
  #10  
Old 07-18-14, 10:50 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,532
Received 95 Upvotes on 88 Posts
Yep, blue at the stat needs to move to Y.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: