indoor fan (A/C) not working


  #1  
Old 07-13-14, 05:43 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 24
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
indoor fan (A/C) not working

Hi all,
We have a 2 zone a/c and heat (Nat. gas, forced air).
For both zones the outside fans are coming on. The larger copper lines getting cold (with condensation) and the smaller line is warm. I've changed the filters and checked the circuit breakers which are all on.
However the indoor fans for both zones are not coming on. I don't have much as experience with central a/c so wondering if anyone has any suggestions. I might be overlooking something simple.

We bought the house last fall and everything was inspected. At the end of the winter the heating on the upstairs zone was acting up and not coming on at the set temp. Not sure if this is related.
 
  #2  
Old 07-13-14, 05:50 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,993
Received 4,154 Upvotes on 3,730 Posts
We'll need more information then that !

What does a 2 zone system mean ?
Do you have two compressors outside ?
Do you have one furnaces inside ?
Do you have two thermostats ?

Or.... do you just have two separate systems.... one for upstairs and one for downstairs ?
 
  #3  
Old 07-13-14, 06:11 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 24
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
OK, I should have given more info....
Its two furnaces- one in attic and one in basement. There are two compressors outside and there are two thermostats. Each system is independent - one for 2nd floor and one for 1st floor (+ basement).
 
  #4  
Old 07-13-14, 06:23 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,993
Received 4,154 Upvotes on 3,730 Posts
Perfect.... and you are telling us that both outside compressor appear to run normally but neither inside blower is running ? That is a pretty odd co-incidence.

Try putting the thermostats into FAN ON mode and see if the fans work then.

You'll need to troubleshoot each system separately.
 
  #5  
Old 07-13-14, 06:29 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 24
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Yes its a bit of a coincidence which made me think I was overlooking something.
The indoor fans do not come on in the FAN mode! They should come on immediately, or after several second, right.
 
  #6  
Old 07-13-14, 06:33 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 24
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
By the way they didn't stop working at exactly the same time. Upstairs stoped a couple of weeks ago and down stairs today.
 
  #7  
Old 07-13-14, 07:27 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,993
Received 4,154 Upvotes on 3,730 Posts
Then you need to decide which one to work on first. You'll need to open the blower access door and see if the motor is frozen or if the blower will turn when pushed. You can also put the thermostat in FAN ON and then go back to the unit and hold the blower door safety switch in. See if the blower moves on its own or starts with a little push of a stick.

You may just need a capacitor for the fan..... that's the least expensive way to start.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: