Low voltage problem.

Old 07-15-14, 10:18 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Low voltage problem.

Hey everybody, I'm new to diy and trying to tackle this problem. I've been an auto tech for 16 years so I can tell a flat from a phillips.

Here is the problem. Split system with handler inside and comp/condensor outside. Outside unit quit. I can engage it by manually pressing contactor plunger and comp/condensor fan come on and low side line cools well. I tested voltage across low voltage contactor coil with everything connected and have nothing. Disconnected yellow and brown wires to each side of coil and checked voltage across the 2 and still nothing. Ohmed the coil itself .06 ohms.

Disconnected signal wire coming out of brick wall and hooked jumper from it and connected to contactor coil.....nothing. Pulled jumper wire off coil and checked for voltage to ground 27 volts present. Am i checking this ac voltage correctly? Voltage is also present from brown wire on the other side of coil to ground whether disconnected or not.

Removed thermostat inside and jumped R and Y together to call for cool. Was gonna connect green wire for fan when I noticed the inside blower was still running even though thermostat is removed. Only way to shut off inside blower is to shut off breaker. Something tells me this wasn't wired right.

I opened the handler access panels to check where stat wiring transfers to outside. There is a circuit board of some kind where stat wiring comes in and sends signal outside. I can see low voltage wiring coming from transformer to this board. have 34volts present on low voltage coming out of transformer to ground. checked the diagram on the panel and from the signal to outside unit to ground i have 34volts. there is another labeled "R" next to it and I have 21 Volts there to ground. From the stat I have 34 volts on the "y" signal at this board.

What am I missing? Thanks in advance for the help!

Sponsored Links
Old 07-15-14, 10:39 AM
Group Moderator