Contactor ?


  #1  
Old 07-23-14, 04:25 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Contactor

Our ac unit will not come on so I checked fuses no problems there, changed contractor and hit the reset and the unit comes on but as soon as I release the button it shuts off, I don't know what to check next any suggestions?
 

Last edited by jemglm; 07-23-14 at 05:06 PM.
  #2  
Old 07-23-14, 04:43 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 36,607
Upvotes: 0
Received 11 Upvotes on 10 Posts
Welcome to the forums! It is a "contactor", not a "contractor", which may be confusing some. Have you had the refrigerant checked by an HVAC person, yet?
 
  #3  
Old 07-23-14, 04:48 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
It was recharged last year and worked all summer. This was the first time to turn it on this year.
 
  #4  
Old 07-23-14, 04:49 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 66,020
Received 4,156 Upvotes on 3,732 Posts
You hit what reset..... a little pushbutton on a pressure sensor or you pushed in the contactor ?
 
  #5  
Old 07-23-14, 05:04 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
It is a rest on the contactor I push it down and the unit comes on and as soon as I release the button it shuts off
 
  #6  
Old 07-23-14, 05:09 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 66,020
Received 4,156 Upvotes on 3,732 Posts
Ok... that isn't a reset. You manually activated the contactor by pushing it in mechanically instead of electrically.

At this point you will need a voltmeter to determine where you are losing the voltage that should activate that contactor. One thing you can do is to check for a float switch somewhere in the white drain line near the air handler. You would see maybe two small wires connected to it.

Otherwise.... the contactor won't pull in by itself if the system is low on refrigerant.
 
  #7  
Old 07-23-14, 05:13 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thank you I will check. Thank you for your time.
 
  #8  
Old 07-23-14, 05:14 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 66,020
Received 4,156 Upvotes on 3,732 Posts
No problem....we're here to help.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: