need help


  #1  
Old 08-02-14, 05:04 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
need help

i've read some threads and still need help my ac gets up to temp and shuts off but my compressor keeps running witch is the contactor but if i raise the temp manually to shut it off the compressor shuts off is it the thermostat very old york don't know model
 
  #2  
Old 08-02-14, 06:37 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,930
Received 4,139 Upvotes on 3,717 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Are you telling us that when the house reaches the correct temperature the inside blower shuts off but the compressor unit outside is still running ?

But if you change the thermostat manually....everything shuts off ?

That certainly sounds like a thermostat problem.
 
  #3  
Old 08-02-14, 06:44 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
yes everything shuts off its a very old thermostat
 
  #4  
Old 08-02-14, 07:39 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,532
Received 95 Upvotes on 88 Posts
Sounds like it is time for a new thermostat.


Do you know if you have a heat pump, a single heat/single cool, or a multistage conventional system?
Do you have an available C wire?

The Honeywell RTH6350 will support most systems.

If you post the make and model number of your existing thermostat and the terminals used we may be able to offer more assistance.
 
  #5  
Old 08-02-14, 08:33 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I have a heat pump and emergency heat the coils in the inside unit. Its a york thermostat under the cover it says class 2 30v max LR1620 I haven't taken it apart yet. How do I tell if its a single or multistage Or a C wire?
 
  #6  
Old 08-02-14, 08:52 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,532
Received 95 Upvotes on 88 Posts
You have a multistage heat pump but we should verify that the outdoor unit is not using Y2.

If you have a common wire I would use a thermostat that supports it so that you do not need batteries. The RTH7400, RTH7500 and RTH7600 can use a common wire leaving the batteries as optional.

You can post a picture of your subbase using a site like Photo and image hosting, free photo galleries, photo editing

Name:  Q674E1049subbase.jpg
Views: 932
Size:  37.3 KB

Are you interested in the ability to control your temperature and receive alerts of system problems on your cell phone? Now might be the time to consider a wifi stat.

The RTH6580WF, and RTH9580WF might be something to consider for a dependable WiFi stat.
Most Wifi stats require a C (common) wire.
 
  #7  
Old 08-02-14, 09:54 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
  #8  
Old 08-03-14, 07:09 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,532
Received 95 Upvotes on 88 Posts
Okay, you have one stage of cooling on that heat pump with the W terminal controlling the auxiliary heat strips. You need a multistage heat pump stat. Since you have a common wire it would be great to get a thermostat that can take advantage of that.

Your B is 24 volt common (C).
X is emergency heat (E)

This is your thermostat...
Name:  HoneywellQ674L1272.jpg
Views: 12309
Size:  39.1 KB
 
  #9  
Old 08-03-14, 05:28 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Okay I have on my old stat w b g r x o y My new one is honeywell rth3100c and it has e aux y g o l r b c and it says c is optional with batteries some don't match what do I do?
 
  #10  
Old 08-03-14, 05:58 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,532
Received 95 Upvotes on 88 Posts
e = black
aux = white
y = yellow
g = purple
o = orange
l = not used
r = red
b = not used
c = blue
 
  #11  
Old 08-03-14, 06:01 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Awesome thank you so much for your help!!!!
 
  #12  
Old 08-03-14, 06:09 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,532
Received 95 Upvotes on 88 Posts
Remember to turn off power to the indoor unit before replacing the stat.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: