2 yr old 3.5 ton goodman wont cool enough.


  #1  
Old 08-03-14, 05:01 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
2 yr old 3.5 ton goodman wont cool enough.

I'm in Florida, and my outside air is 91 F, humidity is 100%, the discharge air from the goodman compressor is 111.5 f, the small line registers 103 degrees, the large line is reading 80 degrees, these are with an infrared therm at the compressor.

An a/c thermometer stuck in the plenum registers 67 F, the air temp at the intake filter ( which is 1 wk old) registers 80 F. Thermostat is set on 72F and the temp is 78 F. Humidity is 43% and its 7:30 pm. My house is always warm, this unit is 2 yrs old last month. We don't remember it being like this before the new unit which uses 410a.

BTW, I can hold the small line at the handler in my hand for a count of 10 Plus.

Any ideas?
 
  #2  
Old 08-03-14, 06:02 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,532
Received 95 Upvotes on 88 Posts
If the furnace is in an attic I would measure the intake temperature up there as well. If the air is much higher entering the furnace than it is entering the filter grill this could indicate a return air leak.

If it cooled fine last year it is probably low on refrigerant indicating that you have a leak somewhere.
We do not explain charging procedures on this site but if you see oil on any connections it could be in indication of a leak. Pull back the pipe insulation near the outdoor and indoor unit and feel for oil.
 
  #3  
Old 08-03-14, 07:01 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
the unit is on the ground floor, refrig checks out ok per a/c tech. plenum time is 67 f, and intake on the other side of the same wall is 80 f. I've had two techs looking at it, both say its because of the 410 coolant. Not as good as the old stuff
 
  #4  
Old 08-03-14, 09:15 PM
C
Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas, California
Posts: 1,426
Upvotes: 0
Received 8 Upvotes on 8 Posts
That is not true, get another tech.. What is the cold air temp at the register ?
 
  #5  
Old 08-03-14, 09:24 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,532
Received 95 Upvotes on 88 Posts
I agree with Clocert. R410a can cool just as well as R22.

You need another tech. A 13 degree drop across the coil is not acceptable.
 
  #6  
Old 08-04-14, 06:05 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
thanks Houston, that's the info I was waiting to hear. What is the acceptable drop across the coil?
 
  #7  
Old 08-04-14, 08:07 AM
C
Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas, California
Posts: 1,426
Upvotes: 0
Received 8 Upvotes on 8 Posts
I missed that 13 degree drop. anyway, it is too low, I prefer to see 16 to 19 at the registers.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: