Carrier a/c unit-tripped outside and inside breaker....thermostat dead

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-03-14, 07:04 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: united states
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Carrier a/c unit-tripped outside and inside breaker....thermostat dead

Hi, everyone,

I'm new.....................my a/c unit outside both breakers were off when I came home and I checked both breakers with a cheap tester and have power at breakers
no power to thermostat.........................A/C IS NOT WORKING PLS HELP
 
  #2  
Old 08-03-14, 07:07 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
I can barely understand your post.

Did you reset 2 breakers? Are you confident that one went to the outdoor unit and one went to the indoor unit? Tripping the condenser and furnace breaker would be very unusual.

Do you have the correct voltage entering each unit at this time?
 
  #3  
Old 08-03-14, 08:05 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: united states
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi,

it is an all outside unit with a heat pump..........the breakers in the main panel in the garage tripped and the outside breaker tripped as well, the one by the unit...the heat pump breaker did not trip however...............did not check voltage.......just a cheap lighted tester 240 on both breakers
 
  #4  
Old 08-03-14, 10:32 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
You will probably need a better multimeter but a visual inspection of the wires for melted connections and a look at the capacitors for swelling would be an easy check.

Name:  ElectricPanel.jpg
Views: 12823
Size:  52.5 KB

Turn the power off before checking in the control panel of your package unit.
Inspect the crank case heater if you have one around the compressor for burned connections as well. It looks like a large hose clamp most of the time.

The compressor terminals would be another cause for this problem. You should wear safety glasses before removing the cover over the compressor connections because if they are severely burned there is a hazard of them blowing refrigerant out at your eyes.

Name:  Beyonce.jpg
Views: 1439
Size:  40.4 KB
 
  #5  
Old 08-04-14, 06:44 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: united states
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
first of all let me say how nice it is of you to try and help thanksName:  ac  1.jpg
Views: 828
Size:  29.9 KBName:  ac  2.jpg
Views: 999
Size:  25.5 KBName:  ac   3.jpg
Views: 1107
Size:  43.5 KB
 
  #6  
Old 08-04-14, 06:53 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: united states
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
that last pic in the upper right is a switch with a red reset on the other side and it does not look tripped at least I tried to push it in................I think it is in place of a fuse???
 
  #7  
Old 08-04-14, 06:56 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
Can we get a closer shot of the run capacitor in your top picture. It is the small V8 sized canister by the blower.
 
  #8  
Old 08-04-14, 07:38 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: united states
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Name:  ac  4.jpg
Views: 760
Size:  25.5 KB


here is what I think you are looking for

there is a rec't metal box with a switch ?? also
 
  #9  
Old 08-04-14, 07:42 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: united states
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Name:  ac 5.jpg
Views: 855
Size:  36.7 KB

asdkfjlaskjdflakjsf
 
  #10  
Old 08-04-14, 07:46 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: united states
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Name:  ac  6.jpg
Views: 706
Size:  33.8 KBName:  ac  7.jpg
Views: 1057
Size:  38.5 KB

asdklfjlasjflasjdflasf
 
  #11  
Old 08-04-14, 07:51 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: united states
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
might you suggest a volt meter to buy...................perhaps at HD

thanks
 
  #12  
Old 08-04-14, 10:48 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: united states
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
hi Houston204

just wanted to say Thank-You for trying to help me

had a guy come out and he changed the transformer and 160 dollars later

presto..........................

I'm sure I will be back.....................if not just to ask questions about anything of interest

Thanks again,

Brian
 
  #13  
Old 08-04-14, 06:31 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: united states
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
compressor fan stopped working???
 
  #14  
Old 08-05-14, 07:01 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: united states
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
all good today and last night

was thinking about replacing with another package unit........................that is what I have and I really don't like the look on the side of my house, but might be my cheapest way

place in tampa sells to public.................they have a 2.5 goodman with a heat pump for like 1800 dollars or so

was wondering your thoughts and If you would not mind helping me find a good replacement.....one that I could just wire up and connect duct work and I guess open a valve and whala
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: