Heat Pump Froze Line and Inside Evaporator

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-14-14, 05:29 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Heat Pump Froze Line and Inside Evaporator

I have a heat pump that is about 7 - 8 years old. It was cooling pretty good, but came home today and the line outside and inside evaporator was frozen solid. I have gauges and the low side is only 25 and the high is 125. Could the Freon just be low from yeas of use or is it far more likely I have a leak or another problem.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-14-14, 05:44 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 51,908
Received 260 Votes on 245 Posts
The system does not "use" refrigerant..... it can only leak it.
Your system appears to be low on refrigerant.
 
  #3  
Old 08-14-14, 06:03 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 3,956
Received 15 Votes on 15 Posts
Check your filters and coil condition,start with the easy stuff first.
Geo
 
  #4  
Old 08-14-14, 06:20 PM
Jarredsdad's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Troy, VA
Posts: 1,532
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You need to find and fix a leak. If you are not EPA 608 certified you maybe breaking the law putting gauges on your system. But as Geo said check the filter. With those pressures alone, I'd say you need some gas.
 
  #5  
Old 08-14-14, 06:48 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I just cleaned the outside coil with a cleaner designed to clean it and I changed the filter out, but it was not that dirty. I will check the inside coil too to see how dirty it is, but if it does need some gas, I was just wondering if it's common for enough Freon to leak out over 8 years and this be normal and no need for the repair person to check for a leak. You can tell I am one who wants to know what to expect. I just had to replace the air handler motor on a 5 year old bottom unit last week, so spending money on this is getting a bit old. It was under warranty, but it didn't cover the install charges, shipping, and some type of distribution fee that's allowed in the state of South Carolina.
 
  #6  
Old 08-14-14, 07:05 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 51,908
Received 260 Votes on 245 Posts
A plugged inside coil or lack of air flow is what will cause the lines to freeze up.

It's always beneficial to try and locate a leak. If the leak was new and you had the system recharged.... you'd lose what you just put in.

Check any connection point you can see with soapy water.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: