Water dripping into the bottom of furnace


  #1  
Old 08-18-14, 04:30 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Water dripping into the bottom of furnace

Hi I have a goodman heat pump about 4 years old and a inside unit the same age . A few days ago I noticed water leaking out onto the basement floor as the ac was running. Today I check it again and the water is dripping from the trunk that goes up and splits off to the vents.I took the front cover off and the grey painted tray was full but not up the drain lines that leads to the floor drain.
The water is falling from the trunk into the bottom of the furnace the filter is aprilaire the area under the filter is wet also the basement vents is open also. this is a new problem any ideals on the cause. there is a lot of water on the floor and in the bottom of the furnace .. thanks geo
 

Last edited by Geo422; 08-18-14 at 04:59 PM.
  #2  
Old 08-18-14, 06:09 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,381
Received 35 Votes on 33 Posts
It is entirely possible the pan is cracked. Have you noticed the large copper line freezing?
 
  #3  
Old 08-18-14, 06:54 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
the big copper line is in blk wrap but a part is uncovered it is cold but not frozen as far as I can tell.just lots of water all over.
 
  #4  
Old 08-18-14, 07:28 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,597
Received 1,601 Votes on 1,475 Posts
If your air handler runs into negative air pressure you can get unexpected water.
Have you checked/replaced the filter ?
 
  #5  
Old 08-18-14, 07:48 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
yes a few days ago..it clean and dry.. would low Freon cause this?
 
  #6  
Old 08-18-14, 08:15 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,597
Received 1,601 Votes on 1,475 Posts
A low charge can cause the evaporator coil to ice over but that doesn't appear to be what's happening.
 
  #7  
Old 08-19-14, 04:34 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I am going call a service company out and will post the results of their visit. the unit is turned off now because I was afraid it would do more damage to the unit,,
 
  #8  
Old 08-19-14, 05:05 AM
airman.1994's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 5,795
Received 8 Votes on 8 Posts
Humidity is to high. reduce your humidity
 
  #9  
Old 08-19-14, 12:23 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The service man just left .he says that the was no trap for the drain line and the blower was sucking the water back up an then it would fall as drops.
the service he did was .
install a trap and added 12oz 410a..
the drain line is draining. I am going to dry up all the water and see what happens next will let you know if his is a fix or not. heat pump is Goodman was install 2012..
 
  #10  
Old 08-20-14, 05:00 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
This morning 12 hours or later the water has stop now it is going out the drain.. The service guy said heat pump was not suppose to operated with out a trap in the drain line.
The people who installed the new system should of know better and put the trap in . maybe this will help some one else but I will keep an eye on it to make sure there no more water.. Or maybe this service guy that was out yesterday is always wrong but we see..
 
  #11  
Old 08-20-14, 07:19 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,597
Received 1,601 Votes on 1,475 Posts
It's not in particularly because it's a heat pump. It comes down to where the blower is in the system. Whether it is blowing air thru the coil or sucking air thru the coil.

Most systems blow the air thru the coil and don't require a trap. Yours is the opposite.
 
  #12  
Old 08-20-14, 05:03 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks to all .Is it common for an heat pump to need Freon after 2 years of service? the service guy wanted to run a leak test to see if the heat pump was leaking I decline the service because I had some doubts about it leaking.. the price for the leak check was 200.00.
So far no more water on the floor..
PJ you right the blower is above the coil on this unit. but it crazy that it waited this long to show up on the floor ..again thanks to all
 
  #13  
Old 08-20-14, 05:24 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,381
Received 35 Votes on 33 Posts
A tight system should never need refrigerant. There are three possibilities: (1) You have a leak, (2) the system wasn't charged properly when installed, or (3) the system is now overcharged.
 
  #14  
Old 08-20-14, 05:35 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks Grady, the service guy suggest that it was not charged correct when install.. How is an homeowner suppose to know?
 
  #15  
Old 08-20-14, 06:16 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,381
Received 35 Votes on 33 Posts
A homeowner has no way to know unless he has trouble from the start.

FYI: Most systems are factory charged for the outdoor unit, a matching indoor coil, & (depending upon the manufacturer) 15-20 ft. of inter-connecting tubing. Any longer lines require the addition of refrigerant & shorter require removal of refrigerant.
 
  #16  
Old 08-21-14, 04:31 AM
airman.1994's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 5,795
Received 8 Votes on 8 Posts
$200 for a leak check is cheap! at least for my area. Double it here.
 
  #17  
Old 08-21-14, 04:39 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks maybe I will have the leak check done just to be sure. My lines is 46 feet just measured them .. and that is from inside the basement from the inside unit to the outside wall not counting the outside part.
Still no water on the floor and bottom of the unit is dry.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: