Thermostat not getting power


  #1  
Old 08-24-14, 04:50 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thermostat not getting power

So earlier today I heard a pop sound that wasn't crazy loud but still loud enough, but just though it was my neighbor mowing.

A couple hours later I noticed my thermostat was blank.

I check (turn off/on) breaker but still nothing. Pulled the thermostat off the wall and notice there was an area for batteries but no batteries, so throw some in there just to see, and what do you know it was back on and everything is working. So I take it no power is getting to the thermostat.

My question is, the pop sound I heard I'm sure most likely came from some part of my AC System, but I don't know where. Everything seems to be working with the batteries in the thermostat.

Should I still have it running or keep it off until I can have someone look at it?

Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 08-24-14, 04:56 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,543
Received 1,598 Votes on 1,473 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

I'm not sure what you'd hear pop all the way from the air handler/furnace but at the present time it sounds like you at least lost the 24vac supply. That means if you try the heat or cool nothing will happen.

Try that first and let us know.
If nothing is working you may smell a burning smell in or near the furnace/air handler.
 
  #3  
Old 08-24-14, 05:09 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the fast response.

Since I put the batteries in the t-stat. It has been running fine blowing out cold air.

I just didn't want to leave it running knowing that something caused it to lose power in the first place and it never needed the batteries in there.

Pop/bang I heard something
 
  #4  
Old 08-24-14, 05:22 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2,101
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I would let it run, if it's cooling the house OK. You have my curiosity up know. If the stat lost voltage, I'm wondering if the stat connection came loose. Could you pull the batteries out and then put the stat back on and let us know what it does?
 
  #5  
Old 08-24-14, 06:04 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Since pulling the batteries out it's been running cold air no problem for 30 mins now.

Just wonder why it lost power in the first place.

Thanks for the help.
 
  #6  
Old 08-24-14, 06:19 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2,101
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm thinking the stat vibrated loose and was not making good contact.

Thanks for the reply.
 
  #7  
Old 08-24-14, 06:48 PM
C
Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas, California
Posts: 1,498
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Just my curiosity, what kind (model ?) of T-stat you are using ?
 
  #8  
Old 08-24-14, 08:00 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,543
Received 1,598 Votes on 1,473 Posts
Would probably be a good idea to check in heat mode too.
 
  #9  
Old 08-24-14, 08:24 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Lennox ComfortSense 5000


"PJmax will try the heat tomorrow" thnx
 
  #10  
Old 08-24-14, 08:27 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,543
Received 1,598 Votes on 1,473 Posts
A thought just occurred to me..... smell the thermostat and see if it has a burning smell. What you described could be the sound of a small capacitor popping and that would be a reason the thermostat no longer runs on 24vac.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: