Changed Thermostat, now compressor will not stay on...


  #1  
Old 08-31-14, 08:15 AM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Changed Thermostat, now compressor will not stay on...

Tried to install a Honeywell 5-2 thermostat... compressor will kick on about every 10 minutes but shuts off after 10 seconds. Put the old Braeburn TStat on and it does the same thing now. *$!!
Blower Motor works fine...

It is a Day/Night (International Comfort Products) PHD460000KTP0D1.

I even had heat come on while in "COOL" mode!

Name:  20140831_073023.jpg
Views: 518
Size:  43.7 KB
Name:  20140831_073100.jpg
Views: 545
Size:  46.7 KB
Name:  20140831_073048.jpg
Views: 660
Size:  35.2 KB
Name:  20140831_085955.jpg
Views: 464
Size:  28.3 KB
 

Last edited by Woody Woodward; 08-31-14 at 09:38 AM.
  #2  
Old 08-31-14, 09:04 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,553
Received 1,599 Votes on 1,473 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

compressor will kick on about every 10 minutes but shuts off after 10 seconds
It sounds like the compressor is shutting down on overload.... is the fan on the condensor running properly ?
 
  #3  
Old 08-31-14, 09:07 AM
D
Member
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The thermostat is simply a switch. You have a common wire, which is like a neutral wire in the house and the thermostat connects the red and yellow wires together. Red is a constant 24v power and when power is sent down the yellow wire it tells the unit to go into A/C mode. The yellow and common wire are also present at the condenser. The common isn't always at the thermostat. White is usually heat and green is usually the fan control.

You can't always go by the color codes of the wires, but usually the terminals are marked R G Y W C, etc. Verify the wiring is hooked up correctly and there are no breaks in the wiring. I have seen that where a wire was cracked inside the insulation and not connecting all the time.

I suspect this is a wiring problem since it's now present with both thermostats, but it could also be an unrelated problem that coincidentally surfaced at the same time.
 
  #4  
Old 08-31-14, 09:08 AM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Fan does run - along with compressor for about 10 seconds and shuts off.
 
  #5  
Old 08-31-14, 09:10 AM
D
Member
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How about the fan on the condenser?
 
  #6  
Old 08-31-14, 09:11 AM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks David126 - I uploaded a pic of the tstat wiring. Condenser fan does run 10 seconds.
 
  #7  
Old 08-31-14, 09:16 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
http://icpindexing.toddsit.com/docum...1801200303.pdf

I'd measure between T1 and Y on the defrost control board to see if a pressure switch is cycling cooling

Name:  13seer icp package.jpg
Views: 353
Size:  23.0 KB

Looks like it is the 2 blue connectors on your board
 
  #8  
Old 08-31-14, 09:32 AM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I think the tstat is hooked up wrong:

"If indoor temperature is above temperature set
point, thermostat closes circuits R to G, R to Y and
R to O−The unit delivers cooling airflow."

I do not have "O" hooked up at all.
 
  #9  
Old 08-31-14, 11:33 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
Is the thermostat picture taken before you ever unwired anything?
It should never have worked like that.
It would heat when cooling is called for. I am not sure that this would explain the short cycling.

Post a pic of the stat connections to your heat pump. I suspect that blue should land on O.
 
  #10  
Old 08-31-14, 11:39 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,553
Received 1,599 Votes on 1,473 Posts
Even if the orange wire wasn't connected..... the condensor should still be running although in heating mode instead of cooling mode.
 
  #11  
Old 08-31-14, 06:19 PM
M
Member
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Move yellow to y2. Y1 is first stage, y2 is second stage.
 
  #12  
Old 08-31-14, 09:02 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
If yellow is moved to Y2 the room temperature will run 2 degrees over setpoint in cool mode. Leave yellow on Y1.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: