Hooking Window AC units into Existing Ductwork

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-05-14, 02:36 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hooking Window AC units into Existing Ductwork

So I have these aweful window units.. the work great I just hate that they are in the windows. I also have ductwork under the house for a heating unit we no longer use. Would it be feesible to put the window units under my house and connect them into the ductwork? Has anyone done anything similar? If so any tips or suggestiongs for this? I know I would most likely loose all programability, but a simple on/off switch would work..
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-05-14, 02:57 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2,104
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No not a good idea, it just wouldn't cool the house. Trying to duct it would be a nightmare.
 
  #3  
Old 09-05-14, 03:08 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,105
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Uhhh...no. No way, no how. If you have duct work in place, you might be able to have a packaged unit installed which does heat and cool.
 
  #4  
Old 09-05-14, 06:21 PM
user 10's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NA
Posts: 1,874
Received 20 Votes on 15 Posts
Look into mini-splits or central air if your existing ductwork is suitable.
 
  #5  
Old 09-08-14, 01:10 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: las vegas, nv
Posts: 210
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have tied a window a/c into a duct system and it worked but it required some skill. The window a/c unit was large, 23,000 btu. The house was small, around 1,000 square feet and it required special measuring and custom ductwork for the outside of the home.
Proper all in one packaged units are fairly cheap and would be the better choice for you.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes