Cost to replace line set for ac


  #1  
Old 11-19-14, 03:15 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 219
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Cost to replace line set for ac

I do not know anything about line set. Since insurance is going to replace my ac unit. The contractor claims their could be a leak or something on the line set. so they recomend I change it. And said it will cost $750. I have finished basement. so how can I determine if I should do it and is it a fair price. Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 11-19-14, 05:47 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 15,993
Received 85 Upvotes on 77 Posts
If its a different type of freon in the new a/c system then the old I would change the line set... If its same type freon then leave it...
 
  #3  
Old 11-19-14, 07:17 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 219
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
After they make the payment for my new ac units. I am calling it a quit. $500 per year and $100 deductible is too much. Although it did come in handy as my ac needed repair few months ago but now they charging me a deductible again, even though its similar problem. I do not trust that contractor my insurance sent me. How can I check personally if the line set need replacement.
 
  #4  
Old 11-19-14, 08:07 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 15,993
Received 85 Upvotes on 77 Posts
Go look at the compressor outside. On the plate it should say the freon type. Compare that to the new unit they are installing...

If its a different freon and you dont change the line set there may be issues down the road. From what I know the freons gum up or something like that....
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: