Buying Window Units


  #1  
Old 04-26-15, 03:26 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 16
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Buying Window Units

I am moving into an apartment that doesn't have central ac, so I have to purchase my own ac units. I am trying to decide between buying one or two units for the downstairs area.

The living room and dining room are each 9.4 w and 10.4 l. I wondering if I can get one ac unit with enough BTUs that can circulate both the living room and dining room.
Name:  trolleymap.png
Views: 275
Size:  14.2 KB

My only concern is that the staircase wall will obstruct the airflow from the dining room to the living room.

Name:  room.jpg
Views: 304
Size:  16.2 KB
 
  #2  
Old 04-26-15, 03:33 PM
K
Member
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 647
Upvotes: 0
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
the rooms are small enough that one unit should be all you need, but it really depends on how even you want the temps in each room.
 
  #3  
Old 04-26-15, 03:47 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 16
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
If I get one unit, I am thinking it might be better to put it in the dining room, so there is less noise in the living room while watching tv.
 
  #4  
Old 04-26-15, 03:55 PM
K
Member
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 647
Upvotes: 0
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
That's probably a good move. Your dinning room may tend to be a bit cooler, but you should still get plenty of cooling in your living room.

I used to have a 10,000 btu window unit and it cooled my whole downstairs, which is about 800sqft and cut up pretty good.
 
  #5  
Old 04-26-15, 03:56 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,775
Received 4,121 Upvotes on 3,701 Posts
Is the kitchen on the main floor too ?
 
  #6  
Old 04-26-15, 04:24 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 16
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Yes, the kitchen is also on the main floor.
 
  #7  
Old 04-26-15, 04:37 PM
Shadeladie's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: PA - USA
Posts: 4,932
Received 403 Upvotes on 330 Posts
I have one unit for the 3 rooms also, and it cools the whole floor, but I find I need to also run a fan, at times, into the living room and into the kitchen. That will help draw the cool air everywhere, when it's really hot.
 
  #8  
Old 04-26-15, 04:47 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 16
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I have a Vornado V-Flow fan, which does a great job in keeping the room cool on 60-70 degree weather days. Those are days where it's not that too hot, thus I can opt not to run the ac.
 
  #9  
Old 04-26-15, 05:50 PM
T
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 955
Received 31 Upvotes on 25 Posts
Put the unit in the room with the most heat load and blow it towards the other room. I like a/c units with side discharge rather then top. I feel they direct air much better. My previous house was about 1,000 sq ft, 10,000 BTU's in my main living area cooled the whole place nicely.

In your layout, I'd put the unit in the living room window.
 
  #10  
Old 04-28-15, 06:49 AM
HVAC RETIRED's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wisconsin USA
Posts: 664
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I cool the entire 1st floor around +650-sf with a Half-Ton mere 6,000-Btuh window unit.

I use a 20" vertically adjustable Wind Machine fan you can buy at Wal-Mart.
Don't try to oversize the window unit as they don't circulate the air far enough away from the unit & it will constantly cycle off on its TH before the air get to the other room(s).

I turn mime's (TH) down low enough so it does not cycle off for a long period of time. Cools perfectly in the hottest & most humid weather you can imagine.
 
  #11  
Old 05-04-15, 04:28 PM
W
Member
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 42
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Though aboout installing 130 dollar units in each room instead of upgrading my crappy goodman.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: