A/C blower not working inside the house

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-02-15, 04:54 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 9
A/C blower not working inside the house

I have an issue with my other blower now and I was wondering if you could help it is a

a bryan plus 80
bryant 395 cav042091
the board is a HK42FZ009 1012-940-M

The blower will not run inside the house. The outdoor one comes on .

I changed the capacitor , that did not help.

Next I put the fan on run and removed the cool high black wire and the common neutral wire from the fan to the board. I tested it and it came out with 0 volts. I did hold down the door switch

Next, I pulled the 24v door switch wire that goes to the board and plugged the fan wire to it. To see if the fan would turn on that way. It did not only made a low hum noise.

Any ideas of what else I could test or what could be wrong with the blower or unit ?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-02-15, 05:00 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 50,673
Likes Received: 113
Welcome to the forums.

While I look up your unit.... the wiring to and from the blower door safety switch should be 120vac.

When you push the blower switch in the red light on the board should come and possibly blink.

Name:  bryant.jpg
Views: 1182
Size:  52.9 KB

Try a jumper between G and R at the thermostat wiring location on the board. The stat wiring can remain connected. Remember to push the door switch in.
 
  #3  
Old 06-02-15, 05:54 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 9
the circut board stays solid as it should , but the fan blower does not turn on .

So a jumper is just a wire connecting both r and g correct ?
 
  #4  
Old 06-02-15, 06:07 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 50,673
Likes Received: 113
Yes.... give it a quick jump. You should at the very least hear a relay click in the module.
 
  #5  
Old 06-02-15, 07:48 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 9
did not work, still no power ?
 
  #6  
Old 06-02-15, 07:52 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 50,673
Likes Received: 113
You need to work step by step.... Did you hear a click from the module ?
If no..... it would appear the module is bad.
If yes.... it points towards a motor problem.
 
  #7  
Old 06-02-15, 08:28 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 9
sorry but when should I hear the click ?
 
  #8  
Old 06-02-15, 08:31 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 50,673
Likes Received: 113
When you short G to R it should activate a relay inside the control module.
 
  #9  
Old 06-02-15, 08:37 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 9
When I short it , I should have the power off though right ? or should I be using like something like an alligator clip to do so
 
  #10  
Old 06-02-15, 08:40 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 50,673
Likes Received: 113
You need to hold the blower door switch in. You need the board to be powered (red LED on). You can use an alligator clip to make it easier.
 
  #11  
Old 06-02-15, 08:46 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 9
So have the door switch down before connection the jumper ? or connect the jumper then push the switch down

by blower door switch you mean the safety switch on the furnace. the black button that goes on and off as you remove the panel
 
  #12  
Old 06-02-15, 09:33 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 50,673
Likes Received: 113
Yes Jim..... the blower door switch. When that switch is out..... all AC is cut from the furnace so that everything is dead. Tape the switch in so you don't have to hold it.

Then try the jumper.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes