Single pole to double pole contactor exchange

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-06-15, 12:28 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Single pole to double pole contactor exchange

Hi,
Can someone help confirm the wire transfer from a single pole contactor to a double pole? Here is a photo of what i believe would be correct transfer from old to new contactorName:  contactorWiringSingleToDouble.jpg
Views: 3839
Size:  49.6 KB
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-06-15, 12:41 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,627
Received 340 Votes on 318 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Yes...... you are correct.
 
  #3  
Old 06-06-15, 12:50 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,372
Received 10 Votes on 8 Posts
Replacing a single pole contactor with a double pole contactor can have an impact on the operaton of the crank case heaters with some manufactures. (Like Carrier)

It looks like you may have a second black wire on 8?
 
  #4  
Old 06-06-15, 01:06 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,627
Received 340 Votes on 318 Posts
I thought I checked. You could be right.

Name:  contactorWiringSingleToDouble.jpg
Views: 2310
Size:  24.9 KB
 
  #5  
Old 06-06-15, 05:40 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the replies.

The angle of the pic just makes it look like there other wires. They are behind the contactor.
You can see it better here. Only one black wire.
Name:  IMG_20150526_155007_471.jpg
Views: 2469
Size:  42.9 KB
 
  #6  
Old 06-06-15, 05:49 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,627
Received 340 Votes on 318 Posts
No problem using a two pole contactor then.
 
  #7  
Old 06-06-15, 05:54 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I don't have a crankcase heater on my AC unit.
 
  #8  
Old 06-06-15, 05:56 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,627
Received 340 Votes on 318 Posts
That is correct.............
 
  #9  
Old 06-06-15, 05:57 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Does it matter which side 6 and 5 go on? I have read they are interchangeably since its just the 24v to energize the coil to make the magnetized.
 
  #10  
Old 06-06-15, 06:09 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,627
Received 340 Votes on 318 Posts
There is no polarity there as it's 24vac..... your choice.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: