ThermaStar smart comfort 2000 won't cool

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-06-15, 12:45 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2002
Location: kentucky
Posts: 133
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
ThermaStar smart comfort 2000 won't cool

20 yo Thermastar blower/furnace
15-18 YO Compressor is a therma star smart comfort 2000

worked great til today. Blower blows, but no a sign of coolness. Compressor fan is not working. No evidence of freeze up

Circuit breaker checked and on. Thermostat checked and set correctly

Thoughts

If motor or something serious. repair or replace
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-06-15, 12:47 PM
Bob14525's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,470
Received 11 Votes on 8 Posts
If the condenser fan (fan at top of outside unit) isn't running, it could be any number of things. Do you have a voltmeter and feel comfortable checking a few voltages?
 
  #3  
Old 06-06-15, 01:00 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2002
Location: kentucky
Posts: 133
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I could buy one and check
 
  #4  
Old 06-06-15, 01:06 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2002
Location: kentucky
Posts: 133
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
to answer your questions, yes i would be comfortable checking the voltage.
 
  #5  
Old 06-06-15, 01:13 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,706
Received 345 Votes on 323 Posts
The condensor fan is not working..... how about the compressor ?
It will be short cycling on high heat due to no cooling from the fan.
 
  #6  
Old 06-06-15, 01:28 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2002
Location: kentucky
Posts: 133
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
nothing seems to work outside, the fan inside is working
 
  #7  
Old 06-06-15, 03:07 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2002
Location: kentucky
Posts: 133
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have the voltmeter and fand can check the voltages you indicated.
 
  #8  
Old 06-06-15, 03:19 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,706
Received 345 Votes on 323 Posts
Make sure your meter is set to the next setting over 240VAC.

The first place is to check at the outside disconnect. It may be a pullout or a breaker. You need to confirm 240vac there first.

The next step is to remove the cover where the wiring connects to the condenser. The cover MUST be removed with the disconnect turned off. Follow the power wiring that comes in from the disconnect to the contactor. The contactor will look like a big relay.

Remember the voltage your are working with. Don't let your probes touch what you are measuring and ground.
 
  #9  
Old 06-06-15, 04:18 PM
Bob14525's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,470
Received 11 Votes on 8 Posts
To add to what PJmax said, measure the voltage across the two terminals at each end of the contactor (relay). There usually are 2 terminals at one end of the contactor, and 2 terminals at the other end. One end is the input (240VAC should be present all the time). The other end is the output and should have 240VAC present only when the thermostat is calling for cooling. Put your voltmeter probes between the two terminals at each end, don't read from each terminal to ground. Let us know what you find.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: